Gorgonzola Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I thought this was a great recipe for gorgonzola sauce. It was a bit runny, but it had really good flavor. I increased both the cheeses. I also browned some chicken peices in garlic with olive oil and added that to the finished sauce with a bit of broccoli. Then I served it over penne pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I made this sauce to put over pasta, and it was quite delicious!! Instead of nutmeg, I added some pesto, and it gave it more of an Italian flavor. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was very good. It was light, not overpowering like some gorgonzola sauces. I used half-and-half and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Oh, my....Yum!!! There is a restaurant in Portland that used to serve "Capellini & Gorganzola", this is the closest Gorganzola sauce I have found to duplicate the recipe. It must be the nutmeg! Make sure you really reduce the sauce after both the wine and cream...it produces a much thicker sauce. Yum!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Quite good, next time I will add more than a pinch of nutmeg for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this sauce and served it with penne pasta and my husband said that it was the best pasta I had ever made for him. Well, we have been married almost 35 years and I have cooked a lot of very good pasta dishes so that was a huge compliment. I liked it too! I pretty much followed the recipe except I might have used a little more gorgonzola than specified. REVISED 3/19/2011: I have now made this sauce 3 times. The secret, I believe, is the quality of the ingredients. Don't expect great results if using gorgonzola that is purchased already crumbled. Trust me; it makes a difference. Also, be sure to reduce the wine as directed. Otherwise, sauce may be runny or curdled and the taste of wine may be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
added asiago cheese along with parmesan and we added a half a bag of mixed california blend veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Really nice and the nutmeg adds that finishing touch. Won't use parm next time though...just to gorgonzola was good enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Added garlic and chicken. Used less wine and less cream. Added a little corn starch to thicken the sauce and served with gnocchi. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Eh. I guess it's an acquired taste. My little cousin said it "smelled like toe jam, and tasted worse". I thought it was OK, not as good as a recipe at a local Italian restaurant, but OK. I don't think I'll make it again, because there are so many recipes for pasta sauces. It may stand to improve by adding some sun-dried tomatoes to kick it up a notch. That's just my suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States