Gorgonzola Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Eh. I guess it's an acquired taste. My little cousin said it "smelled like toe jam, and tasted worse". I thought it was OK, not as good as a recipe at a local Italian restaurant, but OK. I don't think I'll make it again, because there are so many recipes for pasta sauces. It may stand to improve by adding some sun-dried tomatoes to kick it up a notch. That's just my suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This was very good. It was light, not overpowering like some gorgonzola sauces. I used half-and-half and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Quite good, next time I will add more than a pinch of nutmeg for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
Great sauce. I used sweet white wine instead of dry because I like a slight sweetness with the nuttiness of the bleu cheese. I used about a half cup of fresh grated parmesan since I used a very fine shaving grater and I wanted to make sure I used enough and it was fantastic. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Using half and half, this recipe turned out awful. Perhaps I didn't reduce the sauce enough... Also, I think the hlaf and half also curdled upon being added to the boiling wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This was excellent. I had some left over gorgonzola from another recipe and this was a great way to use it up. I added about 1/2 a bag of the tysons grilled chicken strips (heated and diced), 1/2 a box of pipette pasta, and peas and it was a great meal with some garlic bread and white wine. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
This sauce was excellent! Rich but not overwhelming. I served the sauce over sauteed chicken breasts since our family is on Atkins and it was so good! It would be incredible over pasta - someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
I added alot of things to this recipe.. I put 4 0z. of gorgonzola, about 2 tbsp. Blue cheese, 2 tbsp. Parm. Cheese, and it turned out really rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Simple and tasty like all great pasta sauces. I used a Maytag blue cheese as well. This works great with chicken sauteed in garlic. Just add them all together at the very end and mix with pasta. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States