Gorgonzola Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I made this sauce and served it with penne pasta and my husband said that it was the best pasta I had ever made for him. Well, we have been married almost 35 years and I have cooked a lot of very good pasta dishes so that was a huge compliment. I liked it too! I pretty much followed the recipe except I might have used a little more gorgonzola than specified. REVISED 3/19/2011: I have now made this sauce 3 times. The secret, I believe, is the quality of the ingredients. Don't expect great results if using gorgonzola that is purchased already crumbled. Trust me; it makes a difference. Also, be sure to reduce the wine as directed. Otherwise, sauce may be runny or curdled and the taste of wine may be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Pretty good base for a sauce. I liked the amount of gorgonzola it called for. I recduced the wine to 1 cuo and I thought it was still a bit much. Next time I will add more cream, less butter and some butter! Yum! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I think the idea of this recipe is great and for the most part it was delicious. I just messed it up somehow and the cream curdled in the wine creating a weird texture. But next time I'm sure it will be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is our "go to" recipe for gorgonzola sauce. I always add sliced mushrooms during the wine reduction, and is excellent over grilled steak. For a reduced fat version, I use Fat Free evaporated milk (excellent replacement for cream in most recipes). It adds a little bit of sweetness to the flavor, but we compensate with a little extra gorgonzola :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSHALBRITTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am hooked to this sauce. I just love it. Usually I just throw in the whole pack of gorgonzola I bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
was pretty runny, but that may be my fault. just be cautious when letting the wine and cream reduce. i added roasted asparagus, a spoon full of pesto, and one chopped roasted red pepper. flavor was wonderful. will make again with a few adjustments. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
If I could give this recipe more then 5 stars I would.The only thing I change is I add about double the gorganzola. We then cook up penne pasta. Saute chicken , mushrooms, and garlic . Add everything together. VIOLA. This is my husbands all time favorite meal and I love it too. I cannot understand why some reviewers do not like this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This sauce was very sour...I even cut the amount of cheese in half and still found it too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I can't believe this is only 4 stars today. This is the best gorgonzola sauce recipe I have tried. This sauce is similar to one I had in Florence, Italy where it was served with gnocchi pasta. That is the way, I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States