Gorgonzola Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Tried this recipe twice, curdled both times. Better directions on how to combine wine and cream without curdling necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta McRae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I used this with pumpkin stuffed shells, and it tasted fantastic! Although, it was a bit runny but I can work on that the next time. It was so great that my man went for thirds! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
I liked the sauce, but altered the recepie completely and came up with something amazing. Use the recepie as usual, but instead of cream use oatcream and use the brown Norwegian cheese Gjetöst instead and add more salt to tasty. It work perfectly! It's sweet, little sour, caramel-tasting, rich but not as overwhelming as gorgonzola. Perfect with gnocchi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Really great base recipe for a gorgonzola sauce. I would recommend adding some mushrooms sauteed in garlic and butter (and a pinch of salt) to get that dark nutty flavor and adding that to the sauce at the end. I also added half a cup of cooked peas for some texture and fresh chopped parsley at the very end. Really delicious, my boyfriend said it was the best thing he ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My boyfriend and I absolutely LOVE this sauce! I cook a blackened steak and slice it over bow tie pasta and this sauce makes it the best meaty pasta ever. Making it is super easy and I highly recommend trying it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I slightly modified this recipe and ended up with a restaurant-quality meal! I found the recipe because I was trying to find something I could make that would use the gorgonzola/cranberry/walnut cheese mold I recently bought at Trader Joe's (which was not so good on its own). I fried up some onions and garlic in olive oil, set that aside and grilled up some chicken breast. Then, setting aside the chicken but leaving the scraps in the pan, I reduced the wine (using a sweet Moscato wine) and then used 1% milk instead of cream and 5 ounces of the gorgonzola dip (but no parmesan). Also added a few ounces of goats cheese. The nutmeg definitely seals this sauce. Once the flavors were blended, I mixed in the cooked onions and the chicken. Then stirred in cooked quinoa linguine and some lightly steamed broccoli before serving. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This sauce goes great with wings (with or w/o hot sauce). A thicker sauce is recommended if you are going to serve it with wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forgetfulmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Made this low-fat by using evaporated skim milk and cornstarch as another reviewer suggested. Added some roasted garlic too. I used this sauce as a base on grilled chicken and spinach pizza. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was so good my husband actually licked the plate! We served it over gnocchi. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is a wonderful sauce. It took a long time for it to reduce, but it was worth the wait. I used this sauce on the quick gnocchi from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Chef John's Sunday Meat Sauce

See how to make Chef John’s deeply flavorful basic red sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States