Gorgonzola-Garlic Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Very Good. I made it how the recipe said to. It is a very concentrated flavor with a nice salty touch that would be excellent for turkey sandwiches, wraps, etc. Next time I will add some cucumbers and bacon pieces...maybe even some sour cream to help tone the flavor down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Serious flavor in this one! I really enjoyed the lemon with the cheese. The gorgonzola I bought came in 5oz container, so I adjusted the other ingredients to work. I did think there was a bit more oil than needed. I also think it might work well to throw all the "wets" in the food processor before adding the onion and parsley. The leftovers (if there are any) are going to be tossed with pasta and chopped pecans - or mixed with cream cheese and stuffed into mushrooms...lots of ideas! Thanks for the recipe, Hammertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I too could only find a 5 oz container of cheese. Plus, I thought I had a red onion on hand, but only had yellow, so that is what I used. I am not the biggest fan of bleu cheese, but my boyfriend could not get enough! He wants me to make hamburgers for dinner tonight so he can top them with this dip. In the future, I may cut the intensity with some other more mild cheese or sour cream like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson W.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This dip was great. Spread on Tostitos. Spread straight from fridge. I was out of Red Wine Vinegar so I used Balsamic Vingegar. This would also be wonderful on top of a burger. It has lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prell2k4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Again, since this is a N*R review, I made as is(other than I doubled it), so my review will be for that. The flavor was very good but I felt the proportions were a bit off. Next time, I will make it with balsamic, a bit less oil and snip in some green onions. I served it with lightly toasted sourdough and rye and it was tasty like that, but, as others have said, I think it'd be a good topping for burgers. All in all, a solid starter recipe. N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Photo by Winter Ivy
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Wow! This is one recipe that is packed with flavor! I agree with the idea that there is a tad too much olive oil, I could taste the flavor of it even amoungst the other strong flavors. But it was still tasty and I am generally not a fan of soft cheeses. Hubby LOVED it, and I brought it to a pot luck tonight and two people asked for the recipe. I agree, a good base recipe (I like someone else's idea of green onions) and totally servable as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winter Ivy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harpswell, Maine, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
A very different recipe. Next time I will cut back on the oil. I will also add olives and maybe the addition of a mild cheese. This gets better as it ages. UPDATE: I have my sister addicted to this recipe. She request that I bring it to all our gatherings. You can change this recipe up with any chesse you want and it will turn out the bomb! I made it with feta, cheddar, and blue chesse. It is still wonderful. LOVE, LOVE this recipe! Oh yes, I added olives to it and no one can stop eating once they start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I preferred this dip served with raw crisp veggies instead of crackers. It had a good flavor combination with the salty, tart, crunchy, sweet but I felt it was lacking a little heat. Next time I make this I will add some red pepper flakes! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This dip was good, i did make some changes. I halved the recipe first of all because my husband doesnt like gorgonzola. I added a little more lemon juice, a heaping Tbs of sourcream, and it definately need something else so i added a lot of cracked black pepper, and a couple of pinches of crushed red pepper. It sure was good though, on some ritz crackers or whole wheat crackers, i enjoyed it. THank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Loved it! Very stinky, which in our house is a good thing! I didn't have a red onion so I used a few green onions, diced fine. VERY good. I think I'd keep it like that, I like the mild onion flavor. I had to really MASH it to get it to blend, think it would be easier in a food processor or a blender. Next time, more "wet" and I'm tossing it all in a whizzer. And there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States