Gorgonzola-Garlic Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My new favorite. Absolutely awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
By itself as a dip for crackers or whatever, this recipe is a four; it's pretty good, but not totally fantastic. Used as a stuffing for mushrooms however, is definitely worth a five. I took another commenter's advice for the second time I tried making this and added cream cheese for stuffed mushrooms. I added about a cup of cream cheese and set it in the refrigerator for about six hours or so. I chopped the stems off of baby bell and white mushrooms and sauteed them in butter for about three or four minutes, adding a little lemon juice at the end (goes really well with mushrooms, in my opinion). I very carefully scooped out the middle of the mushroom caps to fill with the Gorgonzola cheese mix and then baked in a preheated oven at 375 degrees for about ten minutes, although another five to ten minutes probably couldn't have hurt. I still had some dip left over and will probably use that for crackers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I am sorry. I was not to impressed by this dip. I am still not sure if it should be blended with a mixer... I might like that way as a spread. I am using mine in some wraps and actually heated it with the meat. But as a dip, I don't think so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheesecakemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
While I loved the flavour of the gorgonzola and the garlic it was very overpowering! I ended up mixing about a third of the dip with a cup of cream cheese to tone it down a notch, and it was still potent. I will try these flavours together again but with only 1 clove of garlic, and equal parts cheese mixed with cream cheese and maybe some sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieDB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bornholm, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We served this to my in-laws over Easter weekend. It was pretty good. My brother-in-law ate over half of it it. I scaled the recipe to use a 5 oz. container of Gorgonzola. We didn't think the garlic wasa very prominet flavor though, and we would have liked to taste it more. We could taste the cheese, then the red onion. I didn't taste the olive oil like others did, but I did use an oil for bread dipping. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I thought this recipe was ok, but there was nothing left in the bowl. The kids even ate it:) My one niece thought it was to heavy on the garlic, but I didn't. I think I would like this mixed into sirlion burgers or topping a steak. It is certainly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This was pretty good. I halved the recipe, but added a little more lemon juice. I used green onion rather than red. After trying this, I decided I would like it better if it were creamier, so I tossed it in the food porocessor. It reminded me of a bleu cheese based cheeseball. Very good served on celery! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Loved it! Very stinky, which in our house is a good thing! I didn't have a red onion so I used a few green onions, diced fine. VERY good. I think I'd keep it like that, I like the mild onion flavor. I had to really MASH it to get it to blend, think it would be easier in a food processor or a blender. Next time, more "wet" and I'm tossing it all in a whizzer. And there WILL be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This dip was good, i did make some changes. I halved the recipe first of all because my husband doesnt like gorgonzola. I added a little more lemon juice, a heaping Tbs of sourcream, and it definately need something else so i added a lot of cracked black pepper, and a couple of pinches of crushed red pepper. It sure was good though, on some ritz crackers or whole wheat crackers, i enjoyed it. THank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I preferred this dip served with raw crisp veggies instead of crackers. It had a good flavor combination with the salty, tart, crunchy, sweet but I felt it was lacking a little heat. Next time I make this I will add some red pepper flakes! N*R
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States