Gorgonzola and Wild Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Oh heck yeah -LoL! Used brown rice which on it's own takes 45 minutes to cook, but with these additional Ingredients, mine took maybe an hour or more and required constant babysitting...So, I followed the ingredient list and instructions pretty closely, except did about 3/4 to 1 oz. Of the dried mushrooms as opposed to 2, and it was fine - also, no truffle oil...As we were making multiple dishes at once I was constantly checking on this, tasting and adjusting the heat. Wasn't necessary to seperate the broth into thirds - added it all at once, and used the same amount as suggested for arborio...ended up with some Intentionally browned bits at the bottom that added a nice depth of flavor. Added the cream, and sprinkled gorgonzola on top when served - when you bite into those little bits of melted cheese it is Heaven!! This dish was reaaaally time consuming with all of the chopping and constant stirring and checking to get the right consistency, but I had company in the kitchen, and It turned out great. Served with sauteed vegetables on the side and Chef Johns Spanish Mustard Steak for a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe with very slight changes. I added dried and soaked porcini mushrooms (chopped finely) for the broth and I used a wide assortment of locally grown wild mushrooms instead of the chanterelles. I also toast my arborio in a wok with a bit of butter before making risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Had to mess around with the amount of each ingredient, especially the risotto and the stock, but I've made this multiple times and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I doubled the gorgonzola, as others did, and I also use orzo instead of arborio rice. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used all fresh mushrooms, skipped the cream, and added double the Gorgonzola. It was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This recipe was mediocre at best. I definitely agree with other reviewers to stick to fresh mushrooms only. It wasn't terrible, but it was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
the dried mushrooms make the entire dish disgusting. If you make a mushroom risotto do not use the dried mushrooms it ruins the whole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plasticRobot
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This dish was delightful! For those of you that NEED meat to feel like your having a real meal, here is the exception- it was delicious. A few notes though- I used more than a quart of stock for my risotto- I recommend keeping more handy just in case you do as well. I used fresh mushrooms (portobello and white) and they were perfect. The only real thing of note is that I don't think the recipe calls for enough truffle oil (I added some at the end as well) or enough Gorgonzola. I doubled the amount of cheese and my guests still topped off their risotto w more. All in all an amazing dish that I was glad was shared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This was decadent and wonderful I would serve this as a small appetizer as it is much too rich to eat a bunch of it. This is going to be a new favorite for sure I didn't have the truffle oil but it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOOLICUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Living In: Burr Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I loved this recipe. I followed it exactly. It is time consuming, but so worth it. I chose this one because it didn't require any white wine. Thanks for sharing. This tasted almost exact to some risotto I had at a Napa restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States