Gorgonzola and Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I thought this recipe was great, after I made some modifications. I love Gorgonzola cheese, but too much can be a bit bitey. To cut down on this, I added brown sugar to the butter/apple mixture and let that simmer in there to sweeten it up a little. Also, I sauted the pork in olive oil and garlic, without butteryflying them. It just made the recipe that much easier, and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This recipe was great! Everyone knows that apples and pork are great together and apples and gorgonzola are great together, but putting the three together is incredible! My only suggestion is that instead of using this to stuff into a butterflied pork chop, use smaller chops and just use this as a topping. In my opinion, there was just a little too much pork. Also, if you do not like gorgonzola cheese or bleu cheese, then this is not the recipe for you. If you do, then MAKE THIS! Thanks for a wonderfully simple dish that is perfect for family or company! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYHEN
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I thought this was delicious as did my boyfriend. Clearly if you do not like gorgonzola cheese, you probably won't like this, but if you do, you'll LOVE it!! I've made the sauce as a topping for pork tenderloin as well, and it is absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
How about pounding the pork thin and rolling the mix inside and baking??? I'll try it and let you know....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I think you need to adjust the gorgonzola to your own tastes. That said, I absolutely hated this dish. I made another pork dish tonight that was better (even though it wasn't fantastic). Just didn't like it one bit even though I tried to doctor it up. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Horrible! Gorgonzola cheese is not a good compliment to pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I love blue cheese but this recipe had too much, even for me. The flavor of the apples were lost in the strong blue cheese. I would have liked it better with about half the amount of blue cheese the recipe called for. I also recommend draining the pork chops briefly on a paper towel before stuffing them. To make this recipe even easier, I wonder how it would come out if you put raw apples and blue cheese in a pork tenderloin split down the center and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
My husband and I LOVED this! As suggested, I used the filling as a topping and used gala apples. I avoided an overwhelming cheese flavor by using two apples instead of the one suggested in the "scaled to two servings" version. I also chopped the cheese into chunks and did not pack it into the measuring cup. The flavor of the cheese was definitely there but the apples rounded it our nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
After reading other reviews I followed suit with decreasing the amount of cheese, used 4oz, adding brown sugar and baking the chops. Think it still needs less cheese but I'll definately be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Simply amazing...and incredibly easy...but it tastes like I slaved all day! My 5 and 9 year old girls love it as does my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grayslake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States