Gorgonzola and Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
I followed others' advice and sauteed the chops in olive oil and garlic. I added 2 tblsp of brown sugar to the butter/apple mixture. It turned out good. You definitely need to sprinkle black pepper over the pork before putting the apple/ butter mix over the top. I did not stuff it. I also left out the cheese all together since so many others had mixed reviews. I would make this again but I would add another apple and buy thicker pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unionville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made this recipe thinking we would love it because we are gorgonzola lovers but found it to be a bit overpowering. I used less gorgonzola than the recipe called for an more apples (after reading the reviews) but was still overpowering. It is not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Fantastic dish! Husband said it was the best pork-chop type dish he's ever had - said it was "gourmet." I did what a few others suggested - first, didn't butterfly the chop; ended up cutting a thick boneless chop in half sideways and draping the mixture on top. I also added brown sugar to the apple mixture. Awesome recipe - thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
Didn't really enjoy this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
My boyfriend and I really enjoyed this recipe. We both thought that it would taste better if it were baked, but this is really good for a quick and easy recipe. I don't think you need to use as much cheese as the recipe calls for. I only used 5 oz. of gorgonzola, and it was adequate (I will use a little more next time though, because my boyfriend is a cheese-lover). I also added a little brown sugar(1-2 tsp.) as some other reviewers have suggested. I think that's a good idea for anyone who's a little worried about not liking the gorgonzola. Thanks for the tasty recipe Kimberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
not very good not sweet bitter mixed wrong with cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
My boyfriend and I have tried this recipe twice now and we both thought it was pretty good. We love Gorgonzola so we didn't find the taste overpowering as others had suggested but it was a fairly heavy recipe. We did enjoy it and would recommend it to a gorgonzola fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Wonderful taste. I however like to put it on top of the pork instead of stuffing it, but I find cooking butterflied peices of meat a little harder to work with! I cooked pork in olive oil, fresh garlic and put a little bit of dried rosemary on them during cooking. Gave the pork a little something extra. I also added the sugar and a bit of ff cream cheese to keep the gorgonzola from stiffening once it was out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Court House, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I think you need to adjust the gorgonzola to your own tastes. That said, I absolutely hated this dish. I made another pork dish tonight that was better (even though it wasn't fantastic). Just didn't like it one bit even though I tried to doctor it up. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I love gorgonzola but this was a bit too strong, and I hadn't even used all the recipe called for. I think with just a 1/2 cup of cheese it would be delicious. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States