Gorgonzola and Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe. I made it exactly as written, except I didn't butterfly the chops and just layered the sauce over them. The key to this recipe is to use a SWEET apple. I used Golden Delicious, and it was perfect. If you use a tart apple like Granny Smith, like some of the similar, but more complicated recipes on this site, it will turn out way too tart. Those other recipes have ingredients to sweeten it up. With this one the apple must be sweet to balance the bite of the gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was an interesting dish with a very unique flavor. As per another users suggestion, I cooked chops in minced fresh garlic and dried rosemary. Instead of the full amount I only used 1 cup of gorgonzola cheese. Also I added sugar to the final apple/cheese mixture. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Husband and brother-in-law LOVED this recipe. We're making it again tonight so we'll try adding the brown sugar. YUM!!! Sometimes we use crumbled bleu cheese if we can't find gorganzola, still DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimbone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
this was a very nice start. We made ours with pork tenderloin. Added 2 tsp of brown sugar to the apples and used brie instead of gorgonzola. We made the sauce then stuffed and rolled the pork and baked it in the oven, after searing, for about 20 min. Try it, it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This was really good. It was just a LOT stronger than I had expected. Then again, I don't eat a lot of gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Kisco, New York, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I actually couldn't find gorgonzola cheese at my grocery store (I really have no clue where in the world it was as I looked everywhere for it!) so I used a pepper jack cheese instead, which I know really changes this recipe! I liked the taste but it was so different that it was a bit strange. My boyfriend wasn't too crazy about it and I could tell he would prefer I don't make it again. You have to really like a sweet sort of tang to like this recipe. However, it is a really interesting combination so kudos to the creator for coming up with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
The flavor of this dish was so good. I would use thinner porkchops next time and just spoon the apples and sauce over the top of them after cooking. My husband loved this dish we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLENARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I would have given this a 5, but it dodn't originally call for brown sugar to be added to the apple/cheese mix, and the sugar was SUCH a great addition. Also, you WILL need to reduce the amount of cheese to taste. The full recipe amount is just too much. All in all, a wonderful starter recipe, just needs a tweak here and there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by surfgirl303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canandaigua, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
My family did not care for it. We generally like gorgonzola and sharper cheeses but this just didn't work. It was easy to prepare however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
How about pounding the pork thin and rolling the mix inside and baking??? I'll try it and let you know....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States