Gorditas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I love gorditas! I love stuffing mine with chorizo and potatoes and they're a favorite in my household. I love how at some small local meat markets you can buy the masa already prepared and ready to flatten out a bit and into the oil. Sometimes I make these into sopes instead. Must try with chorizo mixed in with potatoes! You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
They came out delicious! I did add more flour so I can work with the dough better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
MMMMMmmmmm....reminded me of when I was a little girl and would go to the corner store to buy some gorditas. This was my first time making them and they came out awesome, i suggest adding baking powder so that it can have some puuuufff it also goes well with sour cream or crema mexicana or crema salvadurena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I'm Mexican and I love gorditas. The original recipe doesn't have any All purpose flour, neither hot water.... only masa-harina (which it only needs luke warm water) and no shortening, since it will be fried at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe is excellent!!! I am Hispanic and I have never had success when making the traditional Mexican gorditas, so I was happy when these turned out great. In making this recipe,you clearly will need more water than what it calls for simply because the dough should be soft. When the balls are pressed they should not crack around the edges. If they are cracking, then you can add more water to the dough. This dough is very forgiving. I added half a teaspoon of baking powder to the mix to achieve more of a puffed gordita when fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Tastes good but I do not know what I am doing wrong because this is the third time I have tried this recipe and they DO NOT puff or only PARTIALLY puff... We still eat them and they taste great... just not puffing like expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
They were crispy and easily pliable. I think it would have been better with more masa flour and less all purpose as I thought it was lacking a little bit of the corn flavor that the masa brings. I also added more seasoning to the dough mixture (garlic powder, onion powder and pepper). Over all a great shell you can stuff with just about anything. I used skillet potatoes, eggs and chorizo. Guacamole, salsa, cheese and creama on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I made these last night for dinner and calculated the recipe for 12 servings, they were a hit. I did exactly what the recipe said and they came out perfect, they do puff up as soon as they hit the oil, make sure your oil is hot enough so that they can puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
These were great! Totally worth the time and mess! My family loved them, and I ended up making a double batch. Having the oil hot, and frying the gorditas immediately after removing them from the griddle seemed to speed the process along the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This receipe was nothing like I am use to. I am Mexican and thought that I would try it fried, but it did not come out right. And from my understanding there made with "masa de maize".. Never Again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Fiesta

Create a grande celebration with this authentic Mexican spread.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States