Goof Proof Coconut Curry Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yummy! ok so I made some modifications... first I bought chicken breast in stead of thighs, I used about 1.75 lbs. I was not able to find already made curry sauce so I bought a box of S&B Golden Curry Sauce Mix (medium hot) at the international market. Since the sauce mix was concentrated I added 1 1/2 cups water and 1 cup coconut milk. I used a sweet potato instead of a regular potato cause I had one on hand and added a bag of frozen "california style vegetables" from Safeway (carrots, broccoli, cauliflower). And I served it over jasmine ride ... It is YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was my first time making curry, and it came out really good! I stuck to the recipe exactly, but tripled it. Ended up using 6 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs. I have to say, it was a bit time consuming deboning, trimming, and cutting up the chicken. I think it was worth it though, 'cause you get a deeper flavour from the thighs as compared to chicken breasts. As I was making it, it looked like way to much bell pepper- I used 3 , but it ended up being perfect. Served it with Brown rice that was cooked with half of the water replaced by coconut milk. The coconut milk made the rice deliciously creamy, and brought out the nuttiness of the brown rice. The only thing I would change was adding the 3/4 cup of water, and the corn starch water at the end. It didn't make sense to me to dilute the curry, then add a thickener. I tasted the dish after adding the curry sauce/paste and coconut milk (I used green curry paste) and it was perfectly flavoured.The consistency was perfect, too. After I added the water, it tasted diluted. If it wasn't for that, though, I probably would give this 5 stars- it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah E.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
The only reason this isn't getting 5 stars is because I made a few changes. I used a whole can of coconut milk and only used water to mix with the cornstarch. I didn't have curry sauce so I used about 3 tbls. of curry powder. I also used about 2 tbls. of red chili paste. I also threw in some minced garlic and ginger, along with some cilantro and about 1 tbls. of brown sugar. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
omg good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Mmmm Mmmm Yum! This recipe beats my favorite Chinese restaurant version. Now I can make it myself. Just take the advice of some of the other reviewers by adjusting spices (Curry Powder) to your liking and add fresh ginger and you are in business.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelika
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I really liked this recipe, it was my first attempt at anything curry. I ended up adding much more than 5 tbsp of the curry sauce because I tasted it and thought it was wonderful and wanted more! (I bought a jar of 11oz Thai Kitchen yellow curry and used about half of it!) I also added snap peas and minced ginger, like suggested by others, to the veggie mix. Anyway, this is a keeper for me and my boyfriend who loved it as well; and I am so happy to have been introduced to cooking asian/indian style food without it being disastrous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Darn good. Give it a try. Not too hard to make either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. It could be the curry paste I used but it wasn't very good at all. I'd rather go back to adding my own curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I used chicken breast and doubled the recipe. I also used fresh garlic to fry/cook the chicken. Instead of curry sauce (did not have it), I made a paste of 1/2 tsp chili powder, 2 tsp corriander powder, 1/2 tsp turmeric powder, and 1 tsp garam masala. Also used chicken broth instead of water. Would make again, but will marinate the chicken next time in some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was the first time I made a curry so I liked that it was not over comlicated and was a good base. I doubled the recipe and also added some veggies (carrots, peas & bamboo shoots) The original recipe would have scored higher had it had some of these additions. On a sidse note the curry sauce I bought was very bland (kikkomon brand, thai yellow curry sauce) I won't be buying it again. It was hot but otherwise had very little flavor, I added a lot of salt and some curry powder to make up for it. I'll be making this again and playing around with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Thai Red Chicken Curry

Check out this delicious and easy to make homemade chicken curry!

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States