Gooey Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
A yummy treat, but nothing really special. They were enjoyed, but not raved about. These were definitely gooey as the name states, but I thought they could have had a stronger flavor. There's a faint peanut butter taste. I really only got texture from the coconut - not really any taste. I really liked the taste of the bottom layer, but thought the top needs more of a flavor burst. I'm curious to see if others alter this a little and how so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
use 1/2 cup oatmeal instead of coconut and add 1/2 cup peanut butter flavored chips and these bars are fabulous !!!! Great easy recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
The taste was yummy but I don't know what happened with mine. There was not enough to cover my 9 x 13 pan so next time I will either double the batch or use a smaller pan. Mine turned out very thin and nothing like the photo. Still good so I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I really loved the texture as well as the flavour of these bars. They are gooey just like the name promises. After reading the first couple reviews I made a couple changes: used a 8x8 pan (I'm sure they would have been too thin for a 13x9) and added an extra 2 tbs of peanut butter to the filling (we really love peanut butter). I was tempted to add some more chocolate chips, but I'm glad I didn't. I think it would have overwhelmed the peanut butter flavour. I made these just a couple of hours ago and half the pan is gone - enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
first of all, let me start out by saying that i am capable of following a simple recipe, and nothing that i have made has ever failed as miserably as these peanut butter bars. the "crust" was sizzling when i opened the oven, and i the corn starch created a bad texture of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Not impressed. Brought these to a casual party and I was kinda embarassed. I could of made a lot of other desserts that could have gone over better. These were a weird doughy mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I tried this today and did it in a 13x9 pan. After reading the other reviews, I added 1 extra tbsp of peanut butter and 1 tbsp of flour to the syrup mixture, baked for the requisite amount of time and they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
As is, the recipe is rather ... unpleasant. I altered it slightly and I enjoyed my changes. Instead of the given crust, I took a sleeve of graham crackers, smashed them up, and mixed with about 3/4 cup of melted butter. I pressed it into a pan, topped with chocolate chips, then followed the filling recipe as is, except using only 1/4 cup of corn syrup and adding 1/4 cup butter. I omitted the coconut because of personal preference, and didn't add more chocolate chips since they were a layer between the crust and peanut butter. Pretty tasty after my modifications, but rich. A small square is enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Did not like these at all. Maybe mine just didn't turn out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
My husband hates coconut so I used oats instead, and made this in an 8x8 pyrex dish so it was a little thicker. It turned out tasty, but next time I'll add less chocolate chips, they made the squares fall apart a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States