Gooey Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
This is delicious! Like very thick, creamy chocolate caramel. Perfect for people who love fudgy icings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
This was a super easy frosting. I did`nt really care for the taste. It needed maybe another ounce of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiralmaster
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This recipe is amazing. I justused four unsweetened chocolate squares and doubled every ingredient, except the the sweetened condensed milk. It was thick and tasted delicious. The texture was similar to icing you can buy by pillsubury or Duncan Hines, but tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnMarie413
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Excellent easy recipe. It was nice and fast and a big hit with my family! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I did not like this recipe, I thought it was a lot of hassle and it came out thin and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Delicious and very thick and full of flavor. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
While this "frosting" had a nice taste, not being too sweet like other sugar based frostings, I would not classify this as a "frosting" at all. This is more like a sauce (and not even a glaze). My cake tastes good, but it's now soaked. I would consider making some significant adjustments to the quanitities of ingredients used if you're hoping for something thicker (like no water and doubling the chocolate). Chilling overnight before using made little difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I have nothing but praises for this one! There are 2 (1 picky and 1 not picky) chocolate lovers in my household. They both loved it. Unfortunately I used it to coat doughnut holes and it didn't work as well as I thought. It lived up to it's name though - gooey. The best part is that I no longer need to buy chocolate frosting as I can now confidently use this recipe over and over again. I used the tips listed under the recipe - lifesaver. I doubled everything except the milk and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Silpe
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Just a note to those who think it's too thin - you have to stir it for a long time (10 minutes or so) to get it to thicken, but it's worth it. I burned my mouth several times tasting it before it cooled. I used it on a Crazy Cake for a butter-free, egg-free treat and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elverson, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was probably the easiest frosting I have ever made. Decadently rich and sweet, which I enjoy every once in a while. The only change I made was to use a couple tablespoons of cocoa since I didn't have any baking chocolate on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States