Gooey Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
i love the taste and texture of this icing. Perfect for my lava / mudcake. I like my icing oozing, and this was perfect. Only problem was its consistency. I know there must be a work around on this one but I don't know how or what it is. When I poured it onto my cake, it was great, then it sank into my cake and like the other member have said, my cake became soggy. I don't know if I have to "cook" it for a longer period of time or I have to let it sit for awhile and cook it again. The latter amount of the mixture sat well on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Ok, first let me say my review is not totally accurate, as I did not have choc chips on hand. However, I did add ddark cocoa and butter, and came out with a wonderful thin glaze, which was exactly what I wanted. I drizzled it over the Wellesley Cake (w/o provided icing!) and it soaked in to make a super-sweet super-chocolatey treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This was probably the easiest frosting I have ever made. Decadently rich and sweet, which I enjoy every once in a while. The only change I made was to use a couple tablespoons of cocoa since I didn't have any baking chocolate on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Just a note to those who think it's too thin - you have to stir it for a long time (10 minutes or so) to get it to thicken, but it's worth it. I burned my mouth several times tasting it before it cooled. I used it on a Crazy Cake for a butter-free, egg-free treat and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elverson, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I have nothing but praises for this one! There are 2 (1 picky and 1 not picky) chocolate lovers in my household. They both loved it. Unfortunately I used it to coat doughnut holes and it didn't work as well as I thought. It lived up to it's name though - gooey. The best part is that I no longer need to buy chocolate frosting as I can now confidently use this recipe over and over again. I used the tips listed under the recipe - lifesaver. I doubled everything except the milk and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Silpe
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
While this "frosting" had a nice taste, not being too sweet like other sugar based frostings, I would not classify this as a "frosting" at all. This is more like a sauce (and not even a glaze). My cake tastes good, but it's now soaked. I would consider making some significant adjustments to the quanitities of ingredients used if you're hoping for something thicker (like no water and doubling the chocolate). Chilling overnight before using made little difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Delicious and very thick and full of flavor. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I did not like this recipe, I thought it was a lot of hassle and it came out thin and bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnMarie413
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Excellent easy recipe. It was nice and fast and a big hit with my family! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This recipe is amazing. I justused four unsweetened chocolate squares and doubled every ingredient, except the the sweetened condensed milk. It was thick and tasted delicious. The texture was similar to icing you can buy by pillsubury or Duncan Hines, but tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States