Gooey Chocolate Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe was the best I've ever tried. II was mortified with my husband as for chocolate cake one evening. I didn't have eggs I didn't have milk but still I was able to pull off this wonderful moist recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This was so easy to make and it tasted great! I drizzled it over the Black Magic cake recipe (found that on All Recipes, too). It's really gooey and sticky, not really like "regular" icing. It reminds me of the gooey chocolate sauce you get on a chocolate fudge ice cream brownie, but better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAZZYJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Wouldn't call this icing. More like a chocolate ganache. I used 4 squares of semi-sweet chocolate. Next time I may leave out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Fabulous! Double everything but the milk like the others say. I only had to stir about 5 or 6 minutes and got VERY THICK consistency. Delicious! After searching and trying different recipes for my son's cake this one hit the jackpot for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Good Frosting,, more like a ganache than frosting. I used 1/4 cup semi sweet chips ( because that is what I had) instead of bittersweet chocolate, and added a tablespoon of butter. Great for bundt cakes, just runny enough to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!! Very easy to make. Taste fabulous! Thank you!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dodge City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carthage, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I make this icing for every cake I bake. It's quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
As long as you cook it until it reaches the desired consistency, this icing is perfect. If you don't cook it long enough it will be runny. It is not fluffy like a buttercream frosting (because it is an icing, not a frosting), but it is thick and creamy and rich. I made it for brownies and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This frosting is FABULOUS!!! So easy to make and delicious. I, too, double everything except the condensed milk. Also, stir for at least 10 minutes to get a nice fudgy frosting...Um Um Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I didn't have confectioners sugar to frost my yellow bundt cake but I did have a can of fat-free sweetened condensed milk so I decided to use what I had on hand. I also did not have chocolate squares so I used 1/4 cup of unsweetened cocoa. I mixed this together and cooked in a double boiler. I did add 1 tbsp of butter to the mixture and cooked until it was thick (probably 30 minutes or so and stirred often so it wouldn't burn). I did not add water. This is a FABULOUS icing over a bundt cake. The chocolate icing was not too sweet which we liked and it looked so pretty. Drizzle the icing over a cooled cake while still warm as my icing was pretty thick. I will definitely make this icing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States