Gooey Chocolate Carmel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I would suggest using a spoon instead of your hands to mix the cake layer, it is Really sticky! Not crumbly like the recipe said. I had made the caramel sauce, so this came together pretty quickly. My DD and her friend really liked these, they thought the crispy edges were yummy. I added a drizzle of cream cheese frosting. Very rich & TOO SWEET!! Please pass the milk!! Sorry Beans this was not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I opted to make these without the icing since the others said they were really sweet and I also thought they would be good topped with vanilla ice cream. I have to say for as much butter and sugar as these have I would prefer something else. I just didn't find them all that exciting. I was a little disappointed that the carmel sauce wasn't all that carmelly tasting...it kind of just soaked into the cake part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I made this for my kids as a special treat. They LOVED it! I thought it was good, but a little rich. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
This cake is so sweet I could feel my teeth rotting as I ate it!!! But hey, if you like it sweet this is the cake for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2001
Made this for a potluck dessert and everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
I made these to take to a holiday gathering and they were a big hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. They were easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
Wonderful and delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States