Gooey Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Made these today for a bake sale. They turned out good but I agree with several others they are a little too sweet. I added additional graham crackers but it didn't seem to help. I would suggest perhaps halving the sweetened condensed milk. I did not have any nuts but I think it turned out just fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I was looking for a recipe to use up graham crackers that didn't require butter, and this was perfect for that. They're quite gooey, as the name implies, and also quite tasty. I think next time I will line my pan with parchment paper because even though I used a generous amount of shortening, they were very difficult to get out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
These were good. Kinda reminded me of the Magic bars. They are very easy for the kids to make. Be sure to spray your pan very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Simple recipe, very tasty. I swapped chocolate graham crackers for regular, swapped peanut butter chips for choc chips. I also doubled the recipe and made in a 9 X 13 pan lined with parchment. Huge hit with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Extremely easy to make and extremely tasty. Good for people who allergic to eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
easy but too sweet-added more graham crackers but that didn't seem to help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
They are sweet and they are gooey, but I was underwhelmed. Don't think I will make these again, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Skipped the nuts, added mini marshmallows on top before baking and took them camping. Everyone was sad when they were gone. Great for kids to make---easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Simplicity at it's best!! I didn't do the salt/vanilla thing - made it almost exactly as stated with the exception of throwing some minature marshmellows on top. They were a hit at my (bring a treat) grandsons B.Day party. Thanks!! Will remember this for the next quick fix occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
i tried this recipe just because of the minimal ingredients. They turned out well, however I felt that they were far too sweet (due to the condensed milk possibly) and I think next time I will add more cracker crumbs to try to avoid the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*~Bunny~*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States