Gooey Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I used pumpkin spice cream cheese spread - delicious! And tho I didn't add it, a little rum flavoring would enhance these even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Delicious cookies. I found the recipe first on Betty Crocker and then saw it here also. I made them with funfetti cake make so it gave the cookies a little color. I look forward to trying other flavor cakes. Highly recommended! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I call them plain Jane's - they look meh & are hiding the fact they really are Delicious, very rich, soft easy to make cookies in disguise. Used butter yellow cake mix and put dough in fridge overnight but dough was still sticky. No biggie – just used a cookie scoop, plopped the ball into a bowl with powdered sugar and used my finger to roll around. Used parchment and cookies came out perfect. This would make an easy cookie exchange cookie if you need whip something up. I will definitely plan on making them every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Strawberry cake mix, they taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
If you have ever had St. Louis Oooey Gooey Butter cake this is as close as you can get in a cookie. They are amazing, but don't try to mail them, they don't hold up well. If you want them for picnicking, make sure they go into the cooler, they don't like heat. I have tried all different flavors of cake mix and they are all great, our favorite is butter recipe yellow and butter recipe chocolate. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I take it to pot lucks all the time and everyone loves it. The dough is definitely messy but totally worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I just made these today. I thought I would try a new kind of cookie to give out with others for Christmas. I thought they were just okay. It tasted a lot like yellow cake mix and was pretty much the consistency of cake. They tasted fine but nothing special. Don't think I'd bother making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I think this recipe is good, but not to die for. I did dress up 1/2 the batch for Christmas by rolling them in a combination of finely chopped walnuts and plain sugar. This was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These were nice and soft. The powdered sugar made a nice gloss "crust" to the cookie. I also used a butter cake box mix for mine to add the extra butter flavor. I decided to stir in toffee pieces too to make a butter toffee cookie, but I can see how you could change the cake mix or stir ins easily. They were simple, fast, and yummy. My kind of cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muggle516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Made these with my 2 youngest munchkins and added color to the mix they loved rolling the dough balls in the powdered sugar and once they were all baked everyone loved eating them. These cookies did not last they were gone with a quickness. Can't wait to try some of the suggestions others have written. But just as is these are super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States