Gooey Butter Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I have been searching and searching for this recipe for a very long time. I was pleased to find the "original" recipe here with no shortcuts. It takes time, but it well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I have lived my whole life in the St. Louis area and grew up near a metro east bakery that is famous for gooey butter cake. Cream cheese solidifies gooey butter cake's topping and gives it a cheesy danish taste. The end product of a gooey butter cake should be gooey, running gooey, and buttery in flavor. It is a messy, but delicious result! This recipe is spot on for my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
My grandparents owned a bakery in St. Louis and this is the recipe my mom uses (and has been for decades) that's as close to theirs as she can find. Authentic St. Louis gooey butter does NOT use a cake mix OR cream cheese! And to those complaining that it is too gooey, that's exactly how it's supposed to be--oozing and gooing all over the place, not holding its shape. If it's firm, then it is overcooked. This dessert is quite rich but oh so delicious! A family tradition for generations of our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was very good! I've been hunting for a recipe similar to Sara Lee's Butter Coffee Cake (frozen) and first tried one of the Gooey Butter Cake recipes that used cake mix and cream cheese - NOT it! So I tried this one, and it was dang close (minus having a streusel topping). Halved the recipe and used margarine for the shortening and butter - but changed nothing else. Yum! So much better than the cake mix/cream cheese recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemrslarge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I had never baked, or eaten anything like this "cake" before so I had no expectations. I love it and so does everyone who has had some. I had ghee (clarified butter) on hand so I used that in the "goo" the third time and what a wonderful flavor. Thank-you for a wonderful addition to my "something special" collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
I have been searching for this recipe for so long and am thrilled that I finally found the right one! Most of the recipes I've found are the ones with the cream cheese and cake mix, but those can't hold a candle to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
My father-in-law is from St. Louis and said it was wonderful! I almost used one of the other recipes with the cake mix and cream cheese. That would have been a disaster!!! I was told this recipe is just like the real thing from St. Louis!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Well, it's not quite like the ones I grew up with. Our family would always get our gooey butters from Kruda's bakery in Collinsville. Hands down best ones anywhere! This recipe calls for too much filling to crust. You can put in 9x13 cake oan fine and cut the filling amounts in half or even 1/3 and have it turn out great. Otherwise, your crust gets way over-done and the filling is not done enough to cook the flour taste out. Still good flavors and very close but just not there. Kruda's just won't give up there recipe unfortunately. I'll try this one again just adjusting the amounts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
If I could divide the rating into two, I'd give the crust a 1 and the "goo" a 4. The crust is too doughy and not enough like cake; it's very dense and heavy. I also think the crust is too plain. I was born and raised in St.Louis and all of the gooey butter cakes that I've had, had more of a cake feel and taste to the crust. The "goo" is very tasty, but was way too runny. The crust made by the goo on the very top was excellent, though. The "goo" definitely tasted like the gooey butter cakes I've had growing up, but the one on this definitely needed to be less runny. Nice try, but it needs some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
We're on the right track here, but anyone who enjoys the real butter cake recipe will find this one overcooked. Where is the "goo"? 18 minutes may be too long. It makes 2 large pans -- why not put in a 9 x 13" pan?? The recipe calls for one TBSP. of vanilla extract under ingredients, but only 1 tsp. of vanilla in the text, which one is it?? Not as expected for the amount of time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANBRINKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States