Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this cake to take to a family BBQ and it was gobbled up in a flash. Everyone asked me to make it again next time we get together. I made one change, and that was to add a teaspoon of almond extract to the crust. I baked it in a glass pan and found that the bottom browned a bit more than I would like, not burnt, but definitely quite well-browned, so next time I make this I think I'll use a metal pan or lower the temp to 325 for glass, and that should be enough to keep the bottom from over-browning. This cake was extraordinarily easy to make, simple ingredients available at any grocery. I'll make this one often! So easy and sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is absolutely delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very good after you take the crunchy top off of it.I have lived in the St. Louis area my whole life and has NEVER seen a gooey butter cake look like this (and it is not traditional at all) It made a toasted marshmallow look crust on the top and almost impossible to pull the cake away from the pan. Next time I will add a small amount of PAM and like the others had said bake at 325 or 350 for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie Snyder

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was easy and yummy...also addicting. My husband isnt keen on sweets, but he loved this. I took the advice of others and cut back on the sugar in the cream cheese mixture. Will be making again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Gooey butter cake is a wonderful, decadent thing. I used this recipe to introduce this awesome St. Louis tradition to my friends in my now-home of California. It was an absolute hit, though most could not believe St. Louisans actually eat this for breakfast - not dessert. I did two slight alterations. First, I cut the sugar to three and a half cups. And, when I cut it into small slices, I added a small slice of strawberry and kiwi on top - added California flair to a Midwestern delight. It was simply wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pamcancook
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
4 cups of powdered sugar? I couldn't make myself do it, so only added 2 1/2. There seemed to be something missing in the topping as I remember from Paula Deen the 1/2 cup of butter to the cream cheese mixture. Well thats why they call it a butter cake you would think so I added it. Very good with those changes, and plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Made this with high expectations.....found myself a bit disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was way too sweet for my husband and me- and I have an outrageous sweet tooth- sounded great but was just WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I love this and it's so easy. I do agree with other reviewers that using less sugar is better. 2½ to 3 cups of confectioner's sugar is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Nowak
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I really like sweet but this is by far too sweet. I think if I make this again I will add another package of cream cheese and cut the sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States