Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Ok. I tweaked it just a little bit. I added 1 teaspoon of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture and only used 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I don't care for it to be quite that sweet. I bake it in a cookie sheet instead of a cake pan also. I like the texture of the thinner bars. It also seems to go a little further when you are taking is somehwere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Oh. My. Goodness. This was UNBELIEVABLE. I did change a couple of things, do them and you will not have a dry cake: 1. I used organic vanilla cake mix. I am not typically a box cake baker, so I am not sure if yellow cake mix is close to the same thing, but I think using vanilla cake mix gave it an amazing flavor. 2. Use only 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. There is absolutely NO need for 4 cups - not for consistency, and definitely not for sweetness. 2 cups cuts those horrid calories in half and is plenty sweet. Trust me. 3. Bake for only 30-35 minutes, NOT 40+! I pulled mine out and I could tell it was still soft in the center, but a toothpick inserted in the middle came out clean so I took the chance. Best move ever. The middle was soft and moist and buttery and heavenly! Everyone was Mmmm-ing and Ohhh-ing as they ate it. A few said they'd love it with chocolate or caramel drizzled lightly on top (or both!). I'm making this again soon for a dear friend and her hubby and I can't wait to Mmmm over it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious as written. I added chopped walnuts & semi sweet mini chips for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Sweet, Good, Sweet, Good!! Did I mention, sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
great recipe! I cut the sugar in half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anabell
Home Town: San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Had a great flavor but was way too sticky and sweet. Would have liked it to have a little more cake and less goo. Ended up throwing 3/4 of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We call this "Neiman Marcus Bars" at our house...but whatever you call it it is absolutely to DIE for!! I use duncan hines butter golden cake mix and it's buttery and smooth. Wonderfully delicious and the hit of every holiday gathering. It's simple to prepare and is usually gone before any other desserts are gone from the sweets table! My mother-in-law says it's not christmas without this dessert. 5 stars aren't enough for this one! Be prepared to share the recipe if you show up with this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This is the BEST recipe for my favorite dessert. Warning: do not overcook. My oven runs hotter than some. I remove this when its just starting to lightly brown on top. Otherwise it tends to dry out and lose that awesome gooeyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
So very bad for you and yet sooooo very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
pure awesomeness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkniker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stanwood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States