Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
To help spread the cake layer, use the wrapper from the butter. The buttery side won't stick and you can pat the batter down easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good. Made it for the family and co-workers. They all loved it. Add mini chocolate chips for an even more tastier treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Buechler Messmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was fine. Not great. I cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet. Will search for some other recipes rather than making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It's a winner for our family. My husband was very pleased with this recipe...the more gooey, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very easy and very good. Made it for family dinner and everyone loved it so I'm making it again for get-together with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is perfect and a five-star recipe with NO changes necessary to the ingredients. Oven time may need to be reduced slightly. We will make this again and again! Perfect dessert for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
After reading many of the reviews on this and given that I Love Love Love the gooey butter cookies, I had high expectations and was kind of disappointed! I made a couple of changes that other reviewers had suggested. I took the sugar down to just a little over 2 cups and in the cake mix part I did 1/2 tsp almond extract. Just my personal taste that was way too much for me. I don't like how strong I can taste it. And I don't like the consistency of the cream cheese mix part. But it's ok, my daughter ate it up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yui
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used only 1/2 cup of sugar & spread my homemade lemon curd before putting the cream cheese mix. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I varied the recipe three ways: first, I spread a generous tablespoon of coconut oil on top of the cake layer; next, I sprinkled about 3/4 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips onto the cake layer (before I poured the gooey); and finally, for the gooey, I reduced the powdered sugar by a half cup. I also added about 10 minutes of bake time (till the top was slightly browned to my liking). I also let the pan cool completely, refrigerated it overnight, and then served it at room temp the next day. I brought it to an event, and it was literally gone in 5 minutes. Note that this recipe calls for 1 more egg in the gooey than I'm used to, and I thought it might make it too cakey, but the texture was fine. It had about an inch and a half of thickness. Next time I will add pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I was craving our Mexico vacation and wanted to make a gooey butter pina colada cake. I used pineapple cake instead of yellow, and I added shredded coconut to the cake crust mix, and sprinkled some atop the crust before adding the top cream cheese layer. This was so good that our neighbors tried it and made it the next day to take to work, then it spread like wildfire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States