Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was good but very very sweet. Even with only 3 cups of confectioner's sugar (which was one full box). I liked it so I will definitely make again but I'll reduce the amount of sugar for sure. Oh and I used a lemon flavored cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Truly amazing! Everyone who eats these falls in love. I actually call them Neiman Marcus Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Try using lemon cake mix and lemon extract instead of vanilla for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Really rich on its own. Tastes great with some fresh blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N0Mx3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I was a cup short of confectioners' sugar and I thought it was a bit too sweet. But, i'll still make it again because everyone else liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N0Mx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Too sweet for our taste, but I am not familiar with gooey cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
A confectioner's DELIGHT!! It baked up beautifully and tasted scrum-dilly-umptous.....ooey, gooey goodness. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigRed76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This is delicious, but very, very sweet. I will definitely make it again, but only for a large crowd as a little bit goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
The taste of this cake was out of this world. I added about a cup of chocolate chips to the batter and sprinkled a little coconut on top. I probably should have cooked it a tad longer because of the extras I included because it turned out a little more gooey than it should have. My husband just raved about the taste. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is a close version to the original one I've used. My family always uses the butter cake mix, not the yellow and I think that makes a difference. We also just use a box of powdered sugar since that's super easy - no measuring! I also divide the dough and topping between two square aluminum pans. I think it cooks a little easier more evenly. Plus, you can give one away and keep one! I've tried it with chocolate chips and it's pretty good (some people liked that better) but I think using the chocolate cake mix is never as good as the original. I love chocolate too but I think it just tastes much better as the original. Save the chocolate for gooey brownies instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States