Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Just like I remember growing up in the St. Louis area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoshowcase
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is a total WOW! Everyone loved it. I always refused to use box cakes but it seems that all the gooey butter cake recipes called for them. This one had great reviews so I went with it. I used a Butter Recipe Golden Duncan Hines mix and otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Mine was perfect at 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
EXCELLENT! i have only had gooey butter cake once before i made this recipe. this recipe was a big hit at my moms mary kay party. the texture and looks of it were just as i remembered, however it was a little too sweet for my taste. next time i may just use 3 cups of sugar instead of four. and it IS better if you cut it up and let in sit in a tupperware overnight. it makes it softer rather than crunchy around the edges. i think it also helps with the sweetness. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was good but very very sweet. Even with only 3 cups of confectioner's sugar (which was one full box). I liked it so I will definitely make again but I'll reduce the amount of sugar for sure. Oh and I used a lemon flavored cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Truly amazing! Everyone who eats these falls in love. I actually call them Neiman Marcus Bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Try using lemon cake mix and lemon extract instead of vanilla for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Really rich on its own. Tastes great with some fresh blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N0Mx3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I was a cup short of confectioners' sugar and I thought it was a bit too sweet. But, i'll still make it again because everyone else liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N0Mx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Too sweet for our taste, but I am not familiar with gooey cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
A confectioner's DELIGHT!! It baked up beautifully and tasted scrum-dilly-umptous.....ooey, gooey goodness. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigRed76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States