Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
OK, this is the best cake ever. I'm not sure if I can ever eat another cake. I've always wanted this flavor/texture combo, but never knew it existed until perusing the site. I love cream cheese, sugar, and butter...always loved cheese danishes and such. If you're taste buds are like mine, you have to make this cake. My modifications included white cake mix b/c I didn't have yellow, 3.5 cups of the sugar, a splash more of vanilla. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes. The flavor isn't as good as the texture, and contrary to some of the reviews, I don't like it as much cold. I definitely see why you need to use butter yellow cake; the white cake flavor is a bit strong in mine. Next time I'll do that, or add more butter and less non-yellow/butter cake mix. I may also add some cinnamon or nutmeg to the topping. I meant to add a splash of lemon juice to the topping, for a little balance, but I forgot---definitely a to-do for next time. I can't wait to bake this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjonze

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
this was really good. i added coconut to the top. next time i will definitely add some fresh lemon juice to the cream cheese part. these would be delicious with a lemon flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hatebreedchickee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
OMG, so delicious. Will make again for sure. A St. Louis tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is just sin in a dish. It's so good and so comforting. It's definite a family favorite. My younger stepson even asked me to make this for his birthday - he would rather have it than a traditional cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Central, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
The cake layer is very thick and a bit dry. But the flavors are good. I might double the topping next time. *Update* After this sat for 36 hours the cake layer became moist and was super delicious so I bumped the recipe up to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We loved it! I only used 3 cups of the sugar and it came out perfect for our tastes, (trying to watch the sugar intake a bit). Still sweet but not overly so. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This cake is dangerous.....it leaves you wanting more....thank you for this easy great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Yummy!!! Definitely cook for at least 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a decent recipe, though even after reducing the sugar by half (to 2 cups), I still find it too sweet. Next time I'd use 1 cup of sugar or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Had bought a Paula Dean Gooey Butter cake a few months ago and really enjoyed, so I wanted to recreate it...and this recipe came pretty darn CLOSE!!!! Was tasty, and had the perfect, light crunch and creamy texture. Added some pre-melted chocolate to the cake batter and put the cakes into two 8x8 pans. Made one kinda black and white and one was simply the original. Both were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States