Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaRhonda Brown
Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
good but a little to sweet for me will cut down sugar next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulligent, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have made the base gooey butter cake on several occasions all with rave reviews! Last night I made it for a Serbian Christmas Party and I folded in 1 cup of chocolate toffee bits to the cream cheese mixture. WOW! It was THE hit of the party and I was asked to take a photo with two guests who LOVED it. I realized as I was sharing the recipe via email to the folks who had requested it, that I had added only half of the butter and it still turned out amazing! Yes, it is sweet, yes it is gooey and YES it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious is all I have to say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I baked it in my nonstick pan at 325. I wasn't sure how to tell if it was ready, so I baked it for about 55 minutes. It is very sweet, and normally I don't drink milk, but I needed a glass with this cake. Really good, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a huge hit!! My son woke up wanting to have some for breakfast.....I only used 2 cups of powdered sugar as suggested by others. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but I did need to tweak the recipe a bit. The bottom cake crust is amazing, but I felt the top needed more flavor as it was too sweet. I used a yellow butter cake mix and lowfat cream cheese. I added 2 tsp. of imitation butter flavor and an extra two teaspoons of vanilla to the top layer while mixing it. It came outlooking exactly like the photo and cut very nicely after cooling. I brought it to a Christmas gathering and it was the biggest hit (which was amazing considering there were about 15 types of homemade cookies, candies and bars). It is gooey and really sensational. I will definitely make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is one of my very favorite cakes! I got this recipe in the 80's from a family friend. This never goes to waste. On a recent episode of Paula Deen, she made it and added some chocolate toffee bits to the cream cheese mix before baking...looked yummy! I will give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for a church christmas party and got great reviews... some said it tasted like a sugar cookie others said the consistancy reminded them of a lemon bar... i thought they were very good and incredibly easy to make... they are very sweet though so I recommend cutting the pieces small... great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I LOVE THIS! I couldn't find my family recipe for this so I tried this recipe. It's still very good but when I finally found my recipe I realized it only calls for 3 cups of confectioners’ sugar. I also like it better with 1 (20 ounce) can drained crushed pineapple mixed into the cream cheese and sugar mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States