Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Delicious is all I have to say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I baked it in my nonstick pan at 325. I wasn't sure how to tell if it was ready, so I baked it for about 55 minutes. It is very sweet, and normally I don't drink milk, but I needed a glass with this cake. Really good, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a huge hit!! My son woke up wanting to have some for breakfast.....I only used 2 cups of powdered sugar as suggested by others. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but I did need to tweak the recipe a bit. The bottom cake crust is amazing, but I felt the top needed more flavor as it was too sweet. I used a yellow butter cake mix and lowfat cream cheese. I added 2 tsp. of imitation butter flavor and an extra two teaspoons of vanilla to the top layer while mixing it. It came outlooking exactly like the photo and cut very nicely after cooling. I brought it to a Christmas gathering and it was the biggest hit (which was amazing considering there were about 15 types of homemade cookies, candies and bars). It is gooey and really sensational. I will definitely make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is one of my very favorite cakes! I got this recipe in the 80's from a family friend. This never goes to waste. On a recent episode of Paula Deen, she made it and added some chocolate toffee bits to the cream cheese mix before baking...looked yummy! I will give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for a church christmas party and got great reviews... some said it tasted like a sugar cookie others said the consistancy reminded them of a lemon bar... i thought they were very good and incredibly easy to make... they are very sweet though so I recommend cutting the pieces small... great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I LOVE THIS! I couldn't find my family recipe for this so I tried this recipe. It's still very good but when I finally found my recipe I realized it only calls for 3 cups of confectioners’ sugar. I also like it better with 1 (20 ounce) can drained crushed pineapple mixed into the cream cheese and sugar mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Really good cake, I just added some cinnamon as others, and instead of 4 cups of sugar I only added one and it is sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazy4food85

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
OMG, I'm in love! This is absolutely decadant. I followed the recipe exactly. I might try cutting back a little on the powdered sugar next time, just for a trial. This is so delicious. How the heck can you go wrong with cream cheese and butter? Thanks for the recipe. Kaye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States