Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As written, it's extremely sweet. Real bakery butter cake is sweet, but not in the same way. This is nothing like bakery butter cake. Fresh out of the oven, it's ok, but it has to be refrigerated because of the cream cheese. It gets hard and is inedible once it's in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Awesome as is or I sprinkle some choclate chips on top before baking. SOOOO GOOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
To help spread the cake layer, use the wrapper from the butter. The buttery side won't stick and you can pat the batter down easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good. Made it for the family and co-workers. They all loved it. Add mini chocolate chips for an even more tastier treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Messmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was fine. Not great. I cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet. Will search for some other recipes rather than making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It's a winner for our family. My husband was very pleased with this recipe...the more gooey, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Very easy and very good. Made it for family dinner and everyone loved it so I'm making it again for get-together with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This is perfect and a five-star recipe with NO changes necessary to the ingredients. Oven time may need to be reduced slightly. We will make this again and again! Perfect dessert for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
After reading many of the reviews on this and given that I Love Love Love the gooey butter cookies, I had high expectations and was kind of disappointed! I made a couple of changes that other reviewers had suggested. I took the sugar down to just a little over 2 cups and in the cake mix part I did 1/2 tsp almond extract. Just my personal taste that was way too much for me. I don't like how strong I can taste it. And I don't like the consistency of the cream cheese mix part. But it's ok, my daughter ate it up quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yui
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I used only 1/2 cup of sugar & spread my homemade lemon curd before putting the cream cheese mix. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 296) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States