Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2000
This is so easy and very,very good. My inlaws had me make this for them four times, on a ten day visit. Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2000
This was an EXCELLENT recipe! It's very sweet and rich, though (almost makes your tummy hurt!). I was happy that it didn't taste overly cheesecake-ish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
This is so easy and delicious. It will disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I have tried other recipes for this same "cake" on this website, and this is by FAR the best one! Make sure to put them in the fridge before you eat them . . . they're even better cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Beware if you don't like really sweet things! I thought it was an awful lot of sugar when I was making them, and I was right. I brought them to work, and after eating them, we re-named them "sugar bars". If I make them again, I will use a lemon cake mix to help cut the sweetness and use half the amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
I have looked for this recipe for ages! WONDERFUL! My husband took one taste and almost died of happiness! It's like a cross between cheesecake and moist cake. If you want to cut the sweet a bit, do what I do - five minutes before it's done, gently place some pecan halves on top of the cake and finish baking. The pecans get toasty and crunchy, and it's a nice addition. If you want it super-sweet, then dust with additional powdered sugar. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
Excellent! It brought back memories of growing up in St. Louis and having Gooey Butter cake on weekend mornings. I served it at a gathering for some of my east coast friends who had never heard of it, and I think they are now hooked! I did cut back on the powedered sugar since the recipe is already quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
I had never made a cake like this before and wasn't sure what to expect. It was just SO rich it was almost too much. I may as well just slice it up and stick it to my hips since that's where it's going to stay anyhow! Too much guilt to make again since I ate most of it. Thanks for the indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
WE HAVE MADE THIS RECIPE SINCE THE EARLY 80'S. IT IS ALWAYS A BIG HIT. FOR A DIFFERENT TASTE YOU CAN ADD COCONUT AND/OR CHOPPED PECANS TO THE "CRUST" MIXTURE. THIS CAKE IS MUCH BETTER IF ALLOWED TO SIT FOR 24 HOURS BEFORE CUTTING. THE FLAVOR SEEMS TO INTENSIFY OVER TIME. DON'T EXPECT ANY LEFTOVERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I have made this and GOOEY BUTTER CAKE I. I prefer this recipe over the other, but this receipe is about 300% sweeter. I took both cakes to work for a potluck and 9/1 this cake was the winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States