Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My family loves this one - just the sight of the ingredients on the counter and they go crazy. My only mistake this time was taking it to a bake sale and not leaving a piece for my husband. Yikes. I use all 4 cups of sugar, bake for just 35 minutes, use vanilla only with the cream cheese part. It's extra yummy if you let it rest 24 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I've tried a few variations of this cake, this recipe is closest to what I've found to be my favorite, with a couple changes. 1) I add one cup toffee chips to the cream cheese mixture (try it you'll be happy you did!) 2) Altitudes vary but in the midwest, the PERFECT baking time in the midwest at 350 I found to be 33 minutes. I've tried 30 (goo runs all over the place) and 35 (cornbread like). Everyone I serve this too.. "Best cake I've ever had"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. For something different I also added a block of goat cheese and 2 TBL of unsweetened cocoa in the cream cheese mixture. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
One of my husbands favorite cakes (mine too). Only thing I changed was using almond extract in the crust instead of vanilla. Thank you for sharing this incredibly delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glens Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
As a St. Louis transplant (we moved from MI when I was a teen)I've grown to love Gooey Butter cake (how can you not) but, I could never find a recipe I liked...until now. It appeases my sweet-tooth perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My family loved it, my friends loved it, it was simply delicious!!!! Very easy, yet tasty recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This is another one of those desserts that's hard for me to rate. I made it for a group, and everyone but me and my husband RAVED about it (using 3 cups powdered sugar, not 4, but if you like sweet desserts do it as written, it's not as much as it sounds like because it equals out to 2 cups white sugar). I thought it was too sweet / just ok at best, my husband thought it was "pretty good" and the other 4 people RAVED. They are people who are a lot more fond of boxed mixes than I and my husband, so if you're not already too spoiled to like boxed mixes (like me, lol), then I think you'll really like this a lot. Thank you for sharing your recipe, I may try this again with scratch cake sometime, just to see if I love it as much as I love the idea of it! (P.S. I tried the tip of just mixing it in the pan and I hate that tip. I would never do that again. Just my take on it, but it was a stickier gobbledygook that was harder to pat down from from mixing it in the pan because it was so hard to get ALL the moisture mixed in.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this cake to take to a family BBQ and it was gobbled up in a flash. Everyone asked me to make it again next time we get together. I made one change, and that was to add a teaspoon of almond extract to the crust. I baked it in a glass pan and found that the bottom browned a bit more than I would like, not burnt, but definitely quite well-browned, so next time I make this I think I'll use a metal pan or lower the temp to 325 for glass, and that should be enough to keep the bottom from over-browning. This cake was extraordinarily easy to make, simple ingredients available at any grocery. I'll make this one often! So easy and sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is absolutely delicious and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very good after you take the crunchy top off of it.I have lived in the St. Louis area my whole life and has NEVER seen a gooey butter cake look like this (and it is not traditional at all) It made a toasted marshmallow look crust on the top and almost impossible to pull the cake away from the pan. Next time I will add a small amount of PAM and like the others had said bake at 325 or 350 for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DottieS

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States