Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Really gooey and good! Never heard of this until I moved to the South and an employee I worked with dared me to bake it. He pretty much ate the whole dish..lol. The title definitely matches the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Great recipe! Delicious! I added extra vanilla. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I used a strawberry flavored cake and put a small portion of the cake batter into the cream cheese part of the cake to make it slightly pink. And like several others didn't use the full four cups of powdered sugar. It really turned out good. Next time I'm going to try a dark chocolate cake and put mini chocolate chips in the cream cheese portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieWMH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Da bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made this for the first time and it was a hit with my family. Think I'll either cut back to one egg in the cake mix crust, decrease the temperature or baking time since the crust came out pretty dry. Also decreased the powdered sugar to 2 - 2 1/2 cups. Might try to experiment with different flavors in the batter now that I've tried it once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Ok. I tweaked it just a little bit. I added 1 teaspoon of almond extract to the cream cheese mixture and only used 3 1/2 cups of powdered sugar. I don't care for it to be quite that sweet. I bake it in a cookie sheet instead of a cake pan also. I like the texture of the thinner bars. It also seems to go a little further when you are taking is somehwere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Oh. My. Goodness. This was UNBELIEVABLE. I did change a couple of things, do them and you will not have a dry cake: 1. I used organic vanilla cake mix. I am not typically a box cake baker, so I am not sure if yellow cake mix is close to the same thing, but I think using vanilla cake mix gave it an amazing flavor. 2. Use only 2 cups of confectioner's sugar. There is absolutely NO need for 4 cups - not for consistency, and definitely not for sweetness. 2 cups cuts those horrid calories in half and is plenty sweet. Trust me. 3. Bake for only 30-35 minutes, NOT 40+! I pulled mine out and I could tell it was still soft in the center, but a toothpick inserted in the middle came out clean so I took the chance. Best move ever. The middle was soft and moist and buttery and heavenly! Everyone was Mmmm-ing and Ohhh-ing as they ate it. A few said they'd love it with chocolate or caramel drizzled lightly on top (or both!). I'm making this again soon for a dear friend and her hubby and I can't wait to Mmmm over it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adriane Ohrum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Delicious as written. I added chopped walnuts & semi sweet mini chips for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
Sweet, Good, Sweet, Good!! Did I mention, sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
great recipe! I cut the sugar in half...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anabell
Home Town: San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States