Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this yesterday for my family. I took the advice of another reviewer and added double the butter and half the sugar. I think if I make this cake again Ill follow the recipe to a T. It turned out really dense and not ooey-gooey at all. Maybe that's the normal consistency of it, not sure since this is my first time making or having it, but I was a bit disappointed. Also, I hadn't noticed if other reviewers mentioned this, but if you bake this cake it needs to be refrigerated or it just crumbles and falls apart. I may make again just to see if I should've followed the recipe and not a reviewers advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These were so good. Knew they would be because I have made the cookie version before. Even better 2nd day. Trick to get dough spread out in a 9x13 pan. Put wax paper over top of sticky dough and press outward with your hands. Doesn't stick to the paper so it's easy to get a nice even spread in the pan. Otherwise the dough will stick to the spoon and/or your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Fell in love with gooey butter cake when we moved to St. Louis a few years back. I always assumed there were magical little old ladies down on ‘The Hill’ baking up yummy goodness. First tried this recipe last fall and it turned out awesome. Made it several times since, each with a slight tweak as other users suggested and it is always excellent. This recipe is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I just made this now. My family and I LOVED IT! Definitely making this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I actually found this recipe years ago on the back of a cake mix box. My family loves it! Here's the twist we started adding. Fresh blueberries or raspberries or any berry of your choice. Some have said this cake is too sweet, okay, everyone has different taste but the fresh berries really help cut that. Especially the blueberries or raspberries. My grown children fight over this cake. They always have. Now try the berries. They can't fight and chew at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Christen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
As written, it's extremely sweet. Real bakery butter cake is sweet, but not in the same way. This is nothing like bakery butter cake. Fresh out of the oven, it's ok, but it has to be refrigerated because of the cream cheese. It gets hard and is inedible once it's in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Awesome as is or I sprinkle some choclate chips on top before baking. SOOOO GOOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
To help spread the cake layer, use the wrapper from the butter. The buttery side won't stick and you can pat the batter down easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very good. Made it for the family and co-workers. They all loved it. Add mini chocolate chips for an even more tastier treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Buechler Messmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was fine. Not great. I cut the sugar in half and it was still plenty sweet. Will search for some other recipes rather than making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States