Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Yummy!!! Definitely cook for at least 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a decent recipe, though even after reducing the sugar by half (to 2 cups), I still find it too sweet. Next time I'd use 1 cup of sugar or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Had bought a Paula Dean Gooey Butter cake a few months ago and really enjoyed, so I wanted to recreate it...and this recipe came pretty darn CLOSE!!!! Was tasty, and had the perfect, light crunch and creamy texture. Added some pre-melted chocolate to the cake batter and put the cakes into two 8x8 pans. Made one kinda black and white and one was simply the original. Both were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shawnda
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this several times. I find that if you add a little milk to the crust it makes it more tender. I also add nuts to the crust and cut the sugar to 3 cups. You can also spice it up a bit by adding cinnamon and nutmeg. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Thanks for sharing this recipe, I tried it as written and I just don't think the resulting cake is for me or my family. I know others have said this, but seriously if you don't think you will like something that calls for 4 cups of sugar, then just pass on by this one! It was intense, and quickly disposed of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I like the texture of this cake, but it is waaaaay to sweet for my liking! I am going to try to make it one more time and add lemon extract to see if it will cut the sweetness. It got eaten at my house, but not nearly as quickly as the other goodies I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Just like I remember growing up in the St. Louis area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoshowcase
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This is a total WOW! Everyone loved it. I always refused to use box cakes but it seems that all the gooey butter cake recipes called for them. This one had great reviews so I went with it. I used a Butter Recipe Golden Duncan Hines mix and otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Mine was perfect at 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autoshowcase

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
EXCELLENT! i have only had gooey butter cake once before i made this recipe. this recipe was a big hit at my moms mary kay party. the texture and looks of it were just as i remembered, however it was a little too sweet for my taste. next time i may just use 3 cups of sugar instead of four. and it IS better if you cut it up and let in sit in a tupperware overnight. it makes it softer rather than crunchy around the edges. i think it also helps with the sweetness. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States