Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
OMG, so delicious. Will make again for sure. A St. Louis tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is just sin in a dish. It's so good and so comforting. It's definite a family favorite. My younger stepson even asked me to make this for his birthday - he would rather have it than a traditional cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clemson, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Central, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
The cake layer is very thick and a bit dry. But the flavors are good. I might double the topping next time. *Update* After this sat for 36 hours the cake layer became moist and was super delicious so I bumped the recipe up to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leelo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We loved it! I only used 3 cups of the sugar and it came out perfect for our tastes, (trying to watch the sugar intake a bit). Still sweet but not overly so. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This cake is dangerous.....it leaves you wanting more....thank you for this easy great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Yummy!!! Definitely cook for at least 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a decent recipe, though even after reducing the sugar by half (to 2 cups), I still find it too sweet. Next time I'd use 1 cup of sugar or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Had bought a Paula Dean Gooey Butter cake a few months ago and really enjoyed, so I wanted to recreate it...and this recipe came pretty darn CLOSE!!!! Was tasty, and had the perfect, light crunch and creamy texture. Added some pre-melted chocolate to the cake batter and put the cakes into two 8x8 pans. Made one kinda black and white and one was simply the original. Both were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shawnda
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this several times. I find that if you add a little milk to the crust it makes it more tender. I also add nuts to the crust and cut the sugar to 3 cups. You can also spice it up a bit by adding cinnamon and nutmeg. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Thanks for sharing this recipe, I tried it as written and I just don't think the resulting cake is for me or my family. I know others have said this, but seriously if you don't think you will like something that calls for 4 cups of sugar, then just pass on by this one! It was intense, and quickly disposed of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States