Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
We loved it! I only used 3 cups of the sugar and it came out perfect for our tastes, (trying to watch the sugar intake a bit). Still sweet but not overly so. Thx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This cake is dangerous.....it leaves you wanting more....thank you for this easy great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Yummy!!! Definitely cook for at least 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyjo3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a decent recipe, though even after reducing the sugar by half (to 2 cups), I still find it too sweet. Next time I'd use 1 cup of sugar or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Had bought a Paula Dean Gooey Butter cake a few months ago and really enjoyed, so I wanted to recreate it...and this recipe came pretty darn CLOSE!!!! Was tasty, and had the perfect, light crunch and creamy texture. Added some pre-melted chocolate to the cake batter and put the cakes into two 8x8 pans. Made one kinda black and white and one was simply the original. Both were great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Razia M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shawnda
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I have made this several times. I find that if you add a little milk to the crust it makes it more tender. I also add nuts to the crust and cut the sugar to 3 cups. You can also spice it up a bit by adding cinnamon and nutmeg. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shawnda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Thanks for sharing this recipe, I tried it as written and I just don't think the resulting cake is for me or my family. I know others have said this, but seriously if you don't think you will like something that calls for 4 cups of sugar, then just pass on by this one! It was intense, and quickly disposed of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I like the texture of this cake, but it is waaaaay to sweet for my liking! I am going to try to make it one more time and add lemon extract to see if it will cut the sweetness. It got eaten at my house, but not nearly as quickly as the other goodies I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Just like I remember growing up in the St. Louis area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States