Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I baked it in my nonstick pan at 325. I wasn't sure how to tell if it was ready, so I baked it for about 55 minutes. It is very sweet, and normally I don't drink milk, but I needed a glass with this cake. Really good, though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was a huge hit!! My son woke up wanting to have some for breakfast.....I only used 2 cups of powdered sugar as suggested by others. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but I did need to tweak the recipe a bit. The bottom cake crust is amazing, but I felt the top needed more flavor as it was too sweet. I used a yellow butter cake mix and lowfat cream cheese. I added 2 tsp. of imitation butter flavor and an extra two teaspoons of vanilla to the top layer while mixing it. It came outlooking exactly like the photo and cut very nicely after cooling. I brought it to a Christmas gathering and it was the biggest hit (which was amazing considering there were about 15 types of homemade cookies, candies and bars). It is gooey and really sensational. I will definitely make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This is one of my very favorite cakes! I got this recipe in the 80's from a family friend. This never goes to waste. On a recent episode of Paula Deen, she made it and added some chocolate toffee bits to the cream cheese mix before baking...looked yummy! I will give that a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made these for a church christmas party and got great reviews... some said it tasted like a sugar cookie others said the consistancy reminded them of a lemon bar... i thought they were very good and incredibly easy to make... they are very sweet though so I recommend cutting the pieces small... great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I LOVE THIS! I couldn't find my family recipe for this so I tried this recipe. It's still very good but when I finally found my recipe I realized it only calls for 3 cups of confectioners’ sugar. I also like it better with 1 (20 ounce) can drained crushed pineapple mixed into the cream cheese and sugar mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Really good cake, I just added some cinnamon as others, and instead of 4 cups of sugar I only added one and it is sweet enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krazy4food85

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
OMG, I'm in love! This is absolutely decadant. I followed the recipe exactly. I might try cutting back a little on the powdered sugar next time, just for a trial. This is so delicious. How the heck can you go wrong with cream cheese and butter? Thanks for the recipe. Kaye
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I LOVE this cake!! So easy and so Good!! I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmichelle37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States