Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is definitely St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake. I reduced the powdered sugar by half, and will double the butter next time. I sprinkled the top liberally with powdered sugar, but it tends to disappear into the cake after a few hours. If you are taking this to an event, just check it before you leave and add more powdered sugar if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
i absolutely love this recipe accept the vanilla. it is so much better without the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made this cake/bar recipe with slight change as per reviews. Changed sugar to 2.5 cups in the cheesecake part of recipe. Added to this part; grated rind of 1 lemon & the juice of the lemon. Baked it less time than required & will try it 5 min less the next time. By adding lemon juice it cut down the sweetness. All were gone in less than an hour by my coffee gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is an amazing, rich and delicious recipe! Did I say easy? So it kind of reminds me of a chess pie, which is one of my all time favorites. I used fresh peaches that I pre-cooked with sugar before adding the fruit layer. It was amazing, and just as good hot from the oven as chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I have used different flavored cake mixes for this also... Red velvet, spice, and carrot cake mixes are especially yummy!!! I have a butter recipe chocolate one in the oven right now!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliver Wooferson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I like it just the way it is, but sometimes I sprinkle some chocolate chips between the layers because the family likes it better that way ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These are wonderful if you throw some blueberries in. I've also made them in mini muffin tins. It's more work but it makes a nice dessert for a special occasion and every piece has crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was Great!! Only thing I changed was I added in some blackberries, Yum! Served over vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this yesterday for my family. I took the advice of another reviewer and added double the butter and half the sugar. I think if I make this cake again Ill follow the recipe to a T. It turned out really dense and not ooey-gooey at all. Maybe that's the normal consistency of it, not sure since this is my first time making or having it, but I was a bit disappointed. Also, I hadn't noticed if other reviewers mentioned this, but if you bake this cake it needs to be refrigerated or it just crumbles and falls apart. I may make again just to see if I should've followed the recipe and not a reviewers advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These were so good. Knew they would be because I have made the cookie version before. Even better 2nd day. Trick to get dough spread out in a 9x13 pan. Put wax paper over top of sticky dough and press outward with your hands. Doesn't stick to the paper so it's easy to get a nice even spread in the pan. Otherwise the dough will stick to the spoon and/or your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States