Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Got this recipe from my mom-in-law about 25 years ago and make it pretty often. I've used lemon flavored cake mix as well as chocolate and both are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
Even as a beginner I was able to make this with marvelous results! The cake is rich and flavorful! One tip - if you are a stoneware user - this sometimes doesn't firm up in my stone pan, so I prefer to make it in aluminim pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Gooey butter cake is a St. Louis tradition & my daughter's favorite cake. It is super easy to make & is a delicious slice of super fattening heaven. This will also stay fresh for several days - if it lasts that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is incredible! I loved every bite of it. I fell in love and am floating on cloud 9! ok in all seriousness, I didn't put 4 cups of sugar, I put 2 and it was ample sweet. I did however use a whole cup of butter in the crust to make sure that it was moist, and I only cooked it for 35 minutes. it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Delicious and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesna Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is definitely St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake. I reduced the powdered sugar by half, and will double the butter next time. I sprinkled the top liberally with powdered sugar, but it tends to disappear into the cake after a few hours. If you are taking this to an event, just check it before you leave and add more powdered sugar if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
i absolutely love this recipe accept the vanilla. it is so much better without the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made this cake/bar recipe with slight change as per reviews. Changed sugar to 2.5 cups in the cheesecake part of recipe. Added to this part; grated rind of 1 lemon & the juice of the lemon. Baked it less time than required & will try it 5 min less the next time. By adding lemon juice it cut down the sweetness. All were gone in less than an hour by my coffee gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is an amazing, rich and delicious recipe! Did I say easy? So it kind of reminds me of a chess pie, which is one of my all time favorites. I used fresh peaches that I pre-cooked with sugar before adding the fruit layer. It was amazing, and just as good hot from the oven as chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I have used different flavored cake mixes for this also... Red velvet, spice, and carrot cake mixes are especially yummy!!! I have a butter recipe chocolate one in the oven right now!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliver Wooferson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States