Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is definitely St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake. I reduced the powdered sugar by half, and will double the butter next time. I sprinkled the top liberally with powdered sugar, but it tends to disappear into the cake after a few hours. If you are taking this to an event, just check it before you leave and add more powdered sugar if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
i absolutely love this recipe accept the vanilla. it is so much better without the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made this cake/bar recipe with slight change as per reviews. Changed sugar to 2.5 cups in the cheesecake part of recipe. Added to this part; grated rind of 1 lemon & the juice of the lemon. Baked it less time than required & will try it 5 min less the next time. By adding lemon juice it cut down the sweetness. All were gone in less than an hour by my coffee gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is an amazing, rich and delicious recipe! Did I say easy? So it kind of reminds me of a chess pie, which is one of my all time favorites. I used fresh peaches that I pre-cooked with sugar before adding the fruit layer. It was amazing, and just as good hot from the oven as chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I have used different flavored cake mixes for this also... Red velvet, spice, and carrot cake mixes are especially yummy!!! I have a butter recipe chocolate one in the oven right now!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliver Wooferson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I like it just the way it is, but sometimes I sprinkle some chocolate chips between the layers because the family likes it better that way ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These are wonderful if you throw some blueberries in. I've also made them in mini muffin tins. It's more work but it makes a nice dessert for a special occasion and every piece has crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was Great!! Only thing I changed was I added in some blackberries, Yum! Served over vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this yesterday for my family. I took the advice of another reviewer and added double the butter and half the sugar. I think if I make this cake again Ill follow the recipe to a T. It turned out really dense and not ooey-gooey at all. Maybe that's the normal consistency of it, not sure since this is my first time making or having it, but I was a bit disappointed. Also, I hadn't noticed if other reviewers mentioned this, but if you bake this cake it needs to be refrigerated or it just crumbles and falls apart. I may make again just to see if I should've followed the recipe and not a reviewers advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
These were so good. Knew they would be because I have made the cookie version before. Even better 2nd day. Trick to get dough spread out in a 9x13 pan. Put wax paper over top of sticky dough and press outward with your hands. Doesn't stick to the paper so it's easy to get a nice even spread in the pan. Otherwise the dough will stick to the spoon and/or your hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States