Gooey Butter Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Gooey butter cake is a St. Louis tradition & my daughter's favorite cake. It is super easy to make & is a delicious slice of super fattening heaven. This will also stay fresh for several days - if it lasts that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
This is incredible! I loved every bite of it. I fell in love and am floating on cloud 9! ok in all seriousness, I didn't put 4 cups of sugar, I put 2 and it was ample sweet. I did however use a whole cup of butter in the crust to make sure that it was moist, and I only cooked it for 35 minutes. it was perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Delicious and great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chesna Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This is definitely St. Louis Gooey Butter Cake. I reduced the powdered sugar by half, and will double the butter next time. I sprinkled the top liberally with powdered sugar, but it tends to disappear into the cake after a few hours. If you are taking this to an event, just check it before you leave and add more powdered sugar if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
i absolutely love this recipe accept the vanilla. it is so much better without the vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Made this cake/bar recipe with slight change as per reviews. Changed sugar to 2.5 cups in the cheesecake part of recipe. Added to this part; grated rind of 1 lemon & the juice of the lemon. Baked it less time than required & will try it 5 min less the next time. By adding lemon juice it cut down the sweetness. All were gone in less than an hour by my coffee gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is an amazing, rich and delicious recipe! Did I say easy? So it kind of reminds me of a chess pie, which is one of my all time favorites. I used fresh peaches that I pre-cooked with sugar before adding the fruit layer. It was amazing, and just as good hot from the oven as chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe! I have used different flavored cake mixes for this also... Red velvet, spice, and carrot cake mixes are especially yummy!!! I have a butter recipe chocolate one in the oven right now!!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oliver Wooferson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I like it just the way it is, but sometimes I sprinkle some chocolate chips between the layers because the family likes it better that way ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These are wonderful if you throw some blueberries in. I've also made them in mini muffin tins. It's more work but it makes a nice dessert for a special occasion and every piece has crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States