Gooey Butter Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Actually, this recipe has been around a very long time. In the late 60s and 70s, my mother made this fairly regularly. I have to give it 5 stars to honor my mom and all the mothers of baby boomers who baked this delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The filling was terribly...'eggy' and I followed the direction. It didn't taste bad, it just had a very unpalatable texture. The cake crust was fantastic, though. I was able to scoop out the cream cheese and replace it with ice cream and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I have been wanting to try this....now my craving has been quenched by a not so good recipe. This was overly sweet and had an odd taste to it. NOT a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Made this recipe for my youngest sons birthday. I read many reviews before making it. This recipe was beyond easy & quick. After reading many reviews before hand I decided to pretty much stick to the recipe with the exception of using vanilla extract instead of almond, simply because vanilla is what I had on hand. I braced myself for the warnings about it being too sweet....well, the cake turned out fantastic! My cooking time was pretty close to 45 min in a 9x13 pan. As far as sweetness, I think it boils down to personal preference, it was quite sweet but ice cream or milk helped to balance it out. However, I could easily imagine using less sugar & it still tasting scrumtious. Also mixing the bowl that contains the cream cheese for @ least 3 min as it states (it should thicken) is important to the layers cooking more separately & not all coming together during the cooking process. This is a very tasty dessert, my husband & kids loved it & so did I!! The bottom layer more like a bar, top is more of a moist cake texture. Now that I have followed the recipe almost by the book, I now feel more confident to be more creative with it next time:). Thanks V. Monte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Easy and delish. I omitted the almond, as I had none and used lemon extract. It was great. Today I am going to make it, but use a choc cake mix instead. We will see. I bet it's delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I've been making, using the same ingredients, minus about half of the sugar. However, ya'll work WAY too hard at this. If you go ahead and mix all of the ingredients, it still comes out just like you'd made the crust and filling separate. That's why I only gave it 4 stars....you're working too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
My family loves this recipe! We enjoy it most after it's been cut into bars and refrigerated--a tasty, chilled treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
All I gotta say is...amazingly delicious! Not that huge of a sweets fan, but this was yummy, yummy and did I mention Yummy? It is so NOT good for you, but dang it, lets be honest..we all love butter and no matter how you rationalize it to yourself...you gotta love this cake! Thanks for sharing! It is a keeper in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSHELLZ2U

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe. The only substitution I did was used Vanilla extract as I do not like Almond, personal preference only. Fantastic recipe, easy to assemble and bake. This is a great recipe for a large gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I thought this was good (but nothing exceptional) - my husband thought it was excellent. I'm glad I read the reviews, because 4 cups of sugar would have been waaaayyy too much! I used 2 cups, and will probably cut it down to 1.5 cups next time. It's very easy and quick to make - and I think you can probably use any flavor cake mix you have on hand - as a matter of fact, I might try it with spice or carrot cake mix next time, just to change it up a bit. I used the almond extract the recipe calls for, and it was a very nice touch. When I make it with a different cake mix, I will probably substitute vanilla instead. I will keep this recipe to have on hand when I need a quick brunch dish or when we have overnight guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States