Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
Easy and quick! I sereved it with fresh blueberries and whipped cream. It's great plain with a cup of tea. A real hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Very rich and very good. I make this recipe all the time and everyone just raves about it. Not the prettiest cake in the world, but it sure does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
GREAT tasting and moist, but still not gooey like a Philly butter cake. This one should be called a cream cheese cake because cream cheese is the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I tried this recipe because I lost my original recipe for these wonderful bars. I have to say that they did NOT turn out as I expected, but that might have been my fault. I would definitely recommend doubling the 10x sugar, halving the butter, and adding some vanilla extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This recipe isn't great at all! It reminded me of an old recipe I used to make, so I tried it. It was dry and crumbly. You could try it with an 11x7 pan, but there's another recipe on this site for a Chess Cake that turned out much better. The amount of butter is the same, but that recipe uses half of the butter in the topping and more powdered sugar so it's more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This is a delicious cake! Very Rich but yummy. It didn't have a great appearance though. When we served it to company last night he added: it tastes better than it looks. Aside from that, it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This was very good and rich, too. Definitely would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
This was sooooooo delicious!! I don't like custard, and was pleased to find that when I made it, the top layer didn't turn out custard-like. It's very moist though. Rich and sweet and sooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
I don't know what went wrong with mine, but it just didn't measure up to the reviews. For one thing, 45 minutes was too long for mine, and it got too browned. But I didn't like that custardy top layer--yuck. I'm going to frost it with chocolate icing to see if I can salvage it. I'm sorry to be the only bad review!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
My husband thought this needed a topping so we added whipped topping and strawberries. It was very good. One teenager didn't finish her piece of cake while the other one I couldn't keep her out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States