Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
A word of warning--the time on this recipe is WRONG. I really should have known better. You definitely want to check it at 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Excellent desert! Very important to use right size pan and not overcook. I have made it w/ half the butter and twice the powder sugar. It is still very good and not as overwhelming. Must have coffee, tea, or milk to properly enjoy the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Best cake you'll EVER taste! It was gone in seconds!! Also good if you press some toasted pecan halves in it right when it's done, and sprinkle with powdered sugar! Thanks for the recipe! ALSO - if you want the bottom portion a little more moist, use margarine instead of real butter - it makes a HUGE difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was a superb cake!!! Quick and easy, with ingredients I always have on hand. I tried adding about 1/4 c of milk to the cake batter to combat any potential dryness (a few reviews mentioned the slightly dry bottom layer)and it turned out fabulous. I will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
If you are bored with ordinary cake, this one's for you. Five stars all the way!!! My guy's mom has made this for him on every birthday, as per his request. I was ever-so-lucky to have her make it for me too. The secret to our version: "Butter Recipe Yellow" cake mix and use ONLY 1 stick of butter. If you crave chocolate, use "Butter Recipe Chocolate" cake mix. Also, bake time is roughly 30 min., take out while the cake is still jiggly and slightly oozes. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a great cake, I double the cream cheese and put it in a larger pan so the crust is thinner. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHLOWRY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Pretty good. The bottom layer turned out a little dry & crumbly, but the chewy cream cheese-based topping countered that, so it was a good balance. I was able to cut it into bars that kept they're shape, on the 2nd day. Before I made this, and after reading the reviews, someone suggested a fruit topping might be good w/ it. Remembering that I had some frozen blueberries, I took them out and mixed them w/ some sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice, and let that set while I prepared the batter. After it was done baking and while it cooled, the blueberries became a nice syrupy topping! So while the bars were still warm, I topped it w/ a small scoop of vanilla ice cream and then the blueberries, and the combination of the three came out PERFECT. The presentation came out better too, than it would have if I just served the bars alone. I had my in-laws over, and they just LOVED it! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I tried this recipe because I lost my original recipe for these wonderful bars. I have to say that they did NOT turn out as I expected, but that might have been my fault. I would definitely recommend doubling the 10x sugar, halving the butter, and adding some vanilla extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Absolutely to die for!!! Rich, sinful - Yummmmmmy! Perfect with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
VERY easy indeed and it was FANTASTIC! I think next time I'll skip the almond extract, but I used 2 pkgs of cream cheese and it was fantastic! THank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States