Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 6, 2003
If you are bored with ordinary cake, this one's for you. Five stars all the way!!! My guy's mom has made this for him on every birthday, as per his request. I was ever-so-lucky to have her make it for me too. The secret to our version: "Butter Recipe Yellow" cake mix and use ONLY 1 stick of butter. If you crave chocolate, use "Butter Recipe Chocolate" cake mix. Also, bake time is roughly 30 min., take out while the cake is still jiggly and slightly oozes. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Best cake you'll EVER taste! It was gone in seconds!! Also good if you press some toasted pecan halves in it right when it's done, and sprinkle with powdered sugar! Thanks for the recipe! ALSO - if you want the bottom portion a little more moist, use margarine instead of real butter - it makes a HUGE difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Absolutely to die for!!! Rich, sinful - Yummmmmmy! Perfect with a cup of coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This is postively wonderful! I have already made it 3 times. If you want to make a chocolate butter cake, try using the double fudge swirl mix variety. Then you can use the extra packet of "fudge", in the topping mixture. It's seriously yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This cake is the best!! Everyone in my family loves it. It is good with any cake mix. This past Christmas, by pure accident I used a banana nut bread mix and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This is hands down the moistest cake I have ever made! Everyone that ate it fell in love. Will make again and again and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a great cake, I double the cream cheese and put it in a larger pan so the crust is thinner. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHLOWRY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Great w/pumpkin am going to try the choc peanut butter one next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Excellent desert! Very important to use right size pan and not overcook. I have made it w/ half the butter and twice the powder sugar. It is still very good and not as overwhelming. Must have coffee, tea, or milk to properly enjoy the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Pretty good. The bottom layer turned out a little dry & crumbly, but the chewy cream cheese-based topping countered that, so it was a good balance. I was able to cut it into bars that kept they're shape, on the 2nd day. Before I made this, and after reading the reviews, someone suggested a fruit topping might be good w/ it. Remembering that I had some frozen blueberries, I took them out and mixed them w/ some sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice, and let that set while I prepared the batter. After it was done baking and while it cooled, the blueberries became a nice syrupy topping! So while the bars were still warm, I topped it w/ a small scoop of vanilla ice cream and then the blueberries, and the combination of the three came out PERFECT. The presentation came out better too, than it would have if I just served the bars alone. I had my in-laws over, and they just LOVED it! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States