Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Very tasty, but a little dry and brown around the edges. Next time I would not cook it as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This is by far the best cake, bar whatever you want to call it. I used to look forward to going to family holiday feasts because my auntie would always bring these Gooey Butter bars. Days prior I would actually be craving these delectible little pieces of heaven but when the day came I could only have a few because they are so rich. Now I can do it myself and feed my face all the time!!!! Thanks tammy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
If I could rate this higher I would. I baked it for 35 minutes and followed the directions exactly. The result was wonderful. The cake had a wonderful buttery taste and was very moist. My family loved it. Thanks Tammy for a fast, easy, and wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
This is a great recipe but only use the 'butter cake mix' it tastes way yummier and cook only 30 mins i like to let it cool overnight in the fridge and then the next day i can't stop eatin it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I can't say that this will be one for the recipe book. Everytime I see a recipe that starts with a box cake mix I think....yucky! But...against my better judgement....and after reading the reviews I decided to try it. I am not saying that it was not edible but it definietly had that "boxed" taste. For those of you that do everything from scratch....this is not the cake to try. Much too sweet and artifical tasting. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
awesome recipe!!! I baked it for my parents and they loved it. it's easy to make and it tastes so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This is one of my absolutely most favorite indulgences!! True, it's not an attractive cake ... sides get brown and wrinkle inward... but the tast!!! I can't stop eating and always end up with a stomach ache!!! Very much like a cream cheese cake. YUM!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
This cake wasn't great....just OK. It didn't taste buttery at all. I added rum extract instead trying to recreate the flavor of butter rum muffins I find at my bakery. The bottom layer was extremely dry and the top layer didn't taste as good as it sounded. It was also very unattractive. It browned around the edges. Of all the people who tried it only my grandmother liked it. She's on Weight Watchers and doesn't get treats often so it was easy to please her. She did insist it was some kind of cheesecake with a wierd crust even though I explained it was supposed to be a butter cake. She insisted I must have mixed up recipes. I might try this again with some of the other suggestions on making the bottom layer moist and I probably won't cook it as long. I think I'll even switch and use butter flavor. Isn't that what this is supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
VERY easy indeed and it was FANTASTIC! I think next time I'll skip the almond extract, but I used 2 pkgs of cream cheese and it was fantastic! THank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washago, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freedom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was a superb cake!!! Quick and easy, with ingredients I always have on hand. I tried adding about 1/4 c of milk to the cake batter to combat any potential dryness (a few reviews mentioned the slightly dry bottom layer)and it turned out fabulous. I will definitely make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States