Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This recipe is fabulous! I made this for a family outing and everyone loved it. I read the reviews and used margarine instead of butter and baked it for 30 minutes. Like everyone says its not the prettiest cake, but it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This was good but i think i will put in more powdered sugar next time. I will try the other recipt on this site Gooey Butter cake II
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I thought I had yellow cake mix and I didn't! So I substituted it with chocolate cake mix that I already had. I added vanilla flavoring and a little carnation milk to the cream cheese mixture. It turned out great: very rich though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Myself and my family thought this was absolutely horrible !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I have made this cake a few times and love it cause you can do so many different things with it.. I actually added a can of pumpkin pie filling.. It is great that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I'm feeling ambivalent about this recipe. The texture is delightful-- very moist, dense cake with a thin, gooey-ish layer. There was much less of the buttery topping than I was expecting (St. Louis style gooey butter cake has a thick gooey, buttery layer that is at least AS thick as the harder, cakier layer beneath). The FLAVOR was definitely lacking, in my opinion. Tastes like a very bland blondie (somewhat better with a cold glass of milk, but still not a stunner). I read all the reviews, and decided on the following changes: baked for 35 minutes (I pulled it out, but it was very jiggly in the middle, probably could have handled another 5 minutes), added heaping teasp. vanilla extract to cream cheese layer (due to lack of flavor issues- I should have listened), used Betty Crocker "Butter Recipe Chocolate" cake mix. As I said, it's not terrible, it'll probably get eaten eventually... but it's not all that good, and for the amount of fat in this recipe, it really should be fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Great recipe, so very moist and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is very good and I use chocolate cake mix instead of yellow cake mix and it was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
very appealing dessert when you are on a break form chocolate, similar to coffee cake somewhat, very tasty! I sprinkled chopped walnuts on top and it was good with milk or something hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel k.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I am not a cake lover, but this recipe was the best. It was easy and moist. It tasted much like a cheese cake. I had many compliments when I served it to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States