Gooey Butter Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
Pretty good. The bottom layer turned out a little dry & crumbly, but the chewy cream cheese-based topping countered that, so it was a good balance. I was able to cut it into bars that kept they're shape, on the 2nd day. Before I made this, and after reading the reviews, someone suggested a fruit topping might be good w/ it. Remembering that I had some frozen blueberries, I took them out and mixed them w/ some sugar and a squeeze of lemon juice, and let that set while I prepared the batter. After it was done baking and while it cooled, the blueberries became a nice syrupy topping! So while the bars were still warm, I topped it w/ a small scoop of vanilla ice cream and then the blueberries, and the combination of the three came out PERFECT. The presentation came out better too, than it would have if I just served the bars alone. I had my in-laws over, and they just LOVED it! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawavediva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: San Jacinto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
Easy and quick! I sereved it with fresh blueberries and whipped cream. It's great plain with a cup of tea. A real hit with my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
Very rich and very good. I make this recipe all the time and everyone just raves about it. Not the prettiest cake in the world, but it sure does taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
GREAT tasting and moist, but still not gooey like a Philly butter cake. This one should be called a cream cheese cake because cream cheese is the dominant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I tried this recipe because I lost my original recipe for these wonderful bars. I have to say that they did NOT turn out as I expected, but that might have been my fault. I would definitely recommend doubling the 10x sugar, halving the butter, and adding some vanilla extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This recipe isn't great at all! It reminded me of an old recipe I used to make, so I tried it. It was dry and crumbly. You could try it with an 11x7 pan, but there's another recipe on this site for a Chess Cake that turned out much better. The amount of butter is the same, but that recipe uses half of the butter in the topping and more powdered sugar so it's more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
This is a delicious cake! Very Rich but yummy. It didn't have a great appearance though. When we served it to company last night he added: it tastes better than it looks. Aside from that, it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
This was very good and rich, too. Definitely would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
This was sooooooo delicious!! I don't like custard, and was pleased to find that when I made it, the top layer didn't turn out custard-like. It's very moist though. Rich and sweet and sooo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2001
I don't know what went wrong with mine, but it just didn't measure up to the reviews. For one thing, 45 minutes was too long for mine, and it got too browned. But I didn't like that custardy top layer--yuck. I'm going to frost it with chocolate icing to see if I can salvage it. I'm sorry to be the only bad review!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States