Gooey Brownies with Shortbread Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by careydavies
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Turned out delicious, my husband was the taste tester and came back immediately for a second immediately. Made a double batch in a 13 x 9 pan, added a smidge more flour & cocoa. Topped with crushed peppermints. Sold at the decadent dessert auction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
'Not as good as it sounds. Missing something. Chocolate chips? White glaze? Good idea. I'll try other shortbread & brownie recipes together. Gave to MH one year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
It was waaaay to dry, too bad, since it was a good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Good flavor but a little too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My husband and I loved these! I wouldn't change a thing! Except I'm impatient, so I did not allow the shortbread to cool before the next step. They turned out great. Ingredients and cooking times were right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amyjojo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bloofan
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I skipped the walnuts and found if you cook the second part for 5-10 minutes longer, they top layer cooks better. I used Valrhona cocoa and chocolate chips. This is my favorite recipe so far, you just have to be delicate with the brownies when you cut them out. Almost like a souffle because of the sweetened condensed milk. This isn't the recipe for you if you are looking for a typical brownie. This is a unique take on the chocolate flavor and balances it with a buttery shortbread. The textures are wonderfully contrasting as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I just made the shortbread with just 1 Tbsp sugar and they were great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
These would be 5 stars if the cooking time was right for the brownies. I'm glad I read the other reviews because 20 minutes wasn't even close to being enough time. I added an additional 20 minutes when it was all said and done before I could take out the brownies. Otherwise, they are absolutely delicious and sinfully rich. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I thought these were better than a plain brownie! absolutely..The cookie crust on the bottom, was tasty, I loved. The brownie center reminded me of a fudgy pudding, with choc. bits inside. This made the flavor absolutely perfect and not overly rich. I did add salt, which I felt that the crust should have. Also added some brown sugar to crust for more flavor(1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar ..and worked well... not overly sweet and very satisfying.. will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I used bread flour, brown sugar and cinnamon in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States