Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
yuuuuummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinelovesrain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hancock, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
DELICIOUS! After reading the reviews and a similar recipe, I decreased the powdered sugar to 2 1/2 cups, added a couple of extra tablespoons of butter to the dough and used my hands to spread it into the pan. I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture to add more of a cookie dough flavor. I put about 3/4 cup of choc chips on top of dough and also put 3/4 cup mixed into the cream cheese mixture. It turned out perfect! It DOES taste like eating choc chip cookie dough...so I could see where some might not like it, but it is my new favorite, I'll definitely make this again! UPDATE: I made this recipe again following the recipe EXACTLY and it actually came out better than it did with the alterations. It is very sweet, but it is less "gooey" and more set if you use all the sugar (3 1/2 cups). I believe the taste was better as well. I took it to a party and tons of people wanted the recipe, so it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I make this every Christmas season. My family loves them. It's become a holiday tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I make this all the time and my friends love it! lots of people ask for this recipe. yes, it sticks to my teeth, but that's what sweets do. I sometimes make a half recipe in an 8x8 pan with a cupcake mix that is half the size of a cake mix. I also cook it a little longer so the topping isn't as gooey (I am paranoid about cooking the eggs through) and with a little brown on top, it makes for an almost marshmallow top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
these were a hit with everyone i shared them with. i cut the powdered sugar down to 1 3/4 C. might try this with blueberries or raspberries next time. REALLY easy and fast to make! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Wow! Really, really good!. Very rich. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Didn't like these. They were hard and way too sweet. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This recipe is missing something. The main cake batter recipe is way to dry without enough moisture to be poured in the pan. The cream cheese mixture did not mix to a texture that could be poured over the top. It was not well thought out or someone did not write it correctly. Not typical for the quality of recipes normally found on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These are yummy, but I did change to suit what I had on hand. I used a chocolate cake mix, 12oz of cream cheese with 3 eggs and 4 C of powdered sugar. I also used a 10x15 pan because I like them not to be so thick. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This always turns out great. I also like the fact it doesn't use all the butter that a certain Lady uses in all her recipes. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States