Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
There was not a single person in my family who didn't love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I was excited to try this recipe, but I won't be making it again. It's like eating raw cookie dough with extra sugar and butter added. I used half the amount of sugar called for, but they still turned out way too sweet! Don't get me wrong, I LOVE sweet desserts, but this was just too much. My husband and friends agreed. I also found the cake dough to be fairly hard to work with (very crumbly and difficult to spread), and the cream cheese layer is too thick and sticky to pour evenly over the chips. Better to simply mix the chips in with the cream cheese and save yourself some trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
Oh my! Do not make these if you are dieting. They are so incredibly good and addicting I ate half of them myself. Wonderfully good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
Awesome! Easy to make and easy to eat! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
This is another easy, delicious recipe! A must for bake sales. I called it Triple Layer Gooey Bars since there were three layers of sweetness! You can't go wrong with these bars. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grantville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
I can't bake but I made these My husband loved them thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
After all the hype, I found these just okay. The cheesecake-like topping was more fluffy than it was gooey and the cake part seemed just dense and buttery to me. Gooey just wasn't the right word to describe these. They're very rich, but I don't think the taste is something I'd crave...sort of strange presentation and strange taste too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
If you have a sweet tooth, these are definitely for you!!! Word of caution, I made these to take to a friend and they are not "pretty" when cut. They taste great but don't present that well. The gooey definitely makes them hard to "clean cut".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was very good but rich.It was also very easy to make since.I had a party and they went quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very decadent and rich!!! but very quick and easy. I used Duncan Hines Butter recipe cake mix, used 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet and also sprinkled more chips on top after baking. I decreased confectioners sugar to 2 and 1/2 cups as suggested. Will make again, so quick easy and good. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States