Gooey Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I'm only 12 years old and I made these cookies alone. This recipie was easy to make. The whole family enjoys snacking on them. I used 2 cups of conf. sugar. The cream cheese really brings out flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Really good! Added 2 cups of raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
These were terrific! My kids couldn't wait for dinner to be over so they could try them - huge hit with everyone here and SO very simple to make. I took the advice in the reviews also and only used 2 cups of powdered sugar. I'm making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Who are the crazy people that said this dessert is too sweet? This is a family favorite and it is beyond addictive, decadent and over-the-top sweet. Make the bars small and also try them without the chocolate chips. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEXIS4000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
This tasted fine- sweet and rich. Kids would go crazy over it. If you don't like the taste of cake mix, which flavor is very strong with just the few ingredients for the base- you should skip this one, because that artificial taste is very strong in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Way too sweet, people did not like them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Just an okay treat. I used 2 cups powdered sugar which was just the right sweetness on top. It didn't go over well at our gathering though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
These were good but really sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Yum, yum, yum! Rave review on this all around. I only used 2 c powdered sugar as suggested by others and it came out so perfect! You can just barely tell it's cream cheese on top... it's just yummy decadence in my book, especially for being such an easy bar-type cookie. These cut just perfect for me after an hour or two in the refrigerator... definitely can't cut while warm at all though unless you don't care whether or not they cut 'cleanly'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
These were very good but I did make changes. First I do not think that it is possible to spread the mixture because of the thickness. I ended up having to press it in the pan. I also cut the sugar down to 1 cup and that was perfect and still sweet but not overly sweet. (3-1/2 cups seems like way too much). I threw the ingredients for the topping in the food processor and it poured nicely and evenly and the result was a nice cheese-like topping. Will be making again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Cheesecake Lemon Bars

Part creamy cheesecake, part light lemon bars—it’s the best of both worlds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States