Good Ole' Southern Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
If you can find fresh in the shell clams, use them! The clams need to go in with the corn at a simmer and we used jumbo shrimp so it sat 7 minutes vs. 5. We use only Old Bay on the Outer Banks or J.O spice. We precut everything except the potatoes and we use 2.5 quarts of seawater. DO NOT ADD SALT to this and the seawater should come to a boil first then add and simmer from there. Andouille is the best sausage out of the casing. The best you will ever taste! You can substitute mussels for clams too! If you have no seawater use 1.5 tablespoons of Kosher Salt to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I use this for big parties. Feed a lot of people cheap and with little effort. It's got fantastic flavor. People always ask for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I`ve made this pot of goodness many times now....., my whole family just loves it, and it`s fun to eat! I add Old Bay for extra flavor though. I`ll be making this again tonight using lobster tails that`s on sale to add to the pot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
the kids and the neighbors love this dish. I've also added cajun seasoning, whole mushrooms, and pearl onions. I've also sliced some green, red, and orange peppers for color and flavor. I'm always looking for more ways to give it a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Awesome recipe, I make this for dinner at least once every other week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was easy to prep for. I did not have any Old Bay, so I looked up the spices used....Not bad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
We made this for forty people and it was a huge hit. Just be aware that some people have shell fish allergies and may need alternate meal. I did use Old Bay Seasoning and fresh from the field sweet corn. I worried about the lemons but they were fine. We may do this annually. It was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
this is our favorite summer fire pit meal. we cook it on our fire pit in the backyard. we add in some crab legs and andoulle sausage. it's a big hit with our neighbors and friends.we put 3 onions quartered and 5 garlic cloves and course ground pepper. it's fun to sit outside and cook it with some cold brews. that's how we do it in milwaukee, wi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHRISTEL2003
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Dee-lish! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTEL2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Albany, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I didn't have shrimp on hand. So,I added chunks of chicken breast. Still turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States